Allie Recommends

Allen Say: A Sense of Place

 Staff Pick

Exhibition catalog for Allen Say: A Sense of Place, July 3, 2007 - October 28, 2007

By Samuel C. Morse
Illustrated by Allen Say

Allen Say: Between Two Cultures by Samuel C.Morse, Guest Curator
Catalog design by Rita Marshall
21 illustrations, Paper, 32 pages
1,000 copies, First Edition

From Acknowledgments by H. Nichols B. Clark: "To honor Allen Say's 70th birthday, the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art has organized a major retrospective of his career. His illustrations for books comprise the bulk of the exhibition, but it also contains examples of his commercial photography and oil painting to underscore the full measure of his creative talent, as well as a unifying aesthetic."

Item No. 1592880169
$13.95
Chess Rumble
Neri, G

 Staff Pick

Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, American Library Association (ALA)
Notable Books in the Language Arts, National Council of Teachers of English
Lee Bennett Hopkins Promising Poet Award, International Reading Association (IRA)
Top Picks for Reluctant Readers, BoysRead.org

A story in free verse about a troubled boy who learns to use his mind instead of his fists through the guidance of an unconventional mentor and the game of chess.

Three moves
is all it takes
to change the outcome
of the game.

In Marcus's world, battles are fought everyday-on the street, at home, and in school. Angered by his sister's death and his father's absence, and pushed to the brink by a bullying classmate, Marcus fights back with his fists.

One punch away from being kicked out of school and his home, Marcus encounters CM, an unlikely chess master who challenges him to fight his battles on the chess board. Guarded and distrusting, Marcus must endure more hard lessons before he can accept CM's help to regain control of his life.

Inspired by inner-city school chess enrichment programs, Chess Rumble explores the ways this strategic game empowers young people with the skills they need to anticipate and calculate their moves through life.

Item No. 9781620141892
$12.95
Furia
Méndez, Yamile Saied

 Staff Pick

2021 Pura Belpré Author Award Honor

A powerful contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line--even her blooming love story--to follow her dreams.

In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a double life.

At home, she is a careful daughter, living within her mother's narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother's shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father.

On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill and talent. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she'd get an athletic scholarship to a North American university.

But the path ahead isn't easy. Her parents don't know about her passion. They wouldn't allow a girl to play fútbol--and she needs their permission to go any farther. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn't have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren't the same as when he left: she has her own passions and ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and ambition of a girl like her.

Filled with authentic details and the textures of day-to-day life in Argentina, heart-soaring romance, and breathless action on the pitch, Furia is the story of a girl's journey to make her life her own.

Item No. 9781616209919
$17.95
Leo and Diane Dillon Postcard - A Wrinkle in Time

 Staff Pick

4" x 6" postcard featuring cover artwork by Leo and Diane Dillon from A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle.

Item No. 40426088
$1.00
Little Elliot Plush Doll

 Staff Pick

Soft and cuddly, the polka-dotted Little Elliot doll is the perfect friend for kids big and small. From Little Elliot, Big City by Mike Curato. Measures 9" tall. 

Item No. 9781579823634
$15.95
Little Victories Pouch

 Staff Pick

An Indepedent Bookstore Day Exclusive! Only available through participating indepedent bookstores April 2021.

This 9" x 6" Little Victories canvas pouch celebrates the small accomplishments that get us through each day. A perfect comment to our time. For pencils, make-up, or do-dads. Made in the USA.

Item No. 0804589213451
$14.00
My Maddy
Pitman, Gayle E

 Staff Pick

ALA's 2021 Rainbow Book List Top Ten Title for Young Readers

Most mommies are girls. Most daddies are boys. But lots of parents are neither a boy nor a girl. Like my Maddy.

My Maddy has hazel eyes which are not brown or green. And my Maddy likes sporks because they are not quite a spoon or a fork.

Some of the best things in the world are not one thing or the other. They are something in between and entirely their own.

Randall Ehrbar, PsyD, offers an insightful note with more information about parents who are members of gender minority communities, including transgender, gender non-binary, or otherwise gender diverse people.

Item No. 9781433830440
$14.99
Plant Shelfie 1000 pc Puzzle

 Staff Pick

This lovely 1000-piece puzzle illustrated by Frankie Penwill is the ultimate snapshot of the plant-obsessed home dweller, chock-full of houseplants, books, and all the knickknacks that make a home a home. Packaged in matte-finish sturdy boxes, perfect for gifting, reuse, and storage.

Item No. 9780735366541
$16.99
Snowy Day Socks Ad-SM

 Staff Pick

Unisex adult socks featuring artwork from The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats. Available in Small (Shoe Sizes: 5.5-9/Sock Sizes: 9-11) and Large (Shoe Sizes: 8.5-12/Sock Sizes: 10-13)

Pair it with the book for the perfect gift!

Each purchase helps to fund literacy programs and book donations to communities in need.

Item No. SOCK1092SM
$10.95
$10.95
Thao
Lam, Thao

 Staff Pick

A funny, eye-opening story about the challenges of growing up with an unfamiliar name and learning to be true to yourself, new from the critically acclaimed Thao Lam
Even though it's only four simple, familiar letters long, nobody can ever pronounce Thao's name. She's been called Theo, Tail, even Towel! But the teasing names--Tofu, Tiny, China Girl--are worse. Maybe it's time to be someone else? Thao decides to try on a different name, something easy, like Jennifer.
It works, but only until she opens her lunchbox to find her mother's Vietnamese spring rolls, gỏi cuốn--Thao's favorite! Now, it feels a lot more comfortable to be herself.
Simple on the surface, this story inspired by Thao's own childhood is full of humor, heart, and important ideas of diversity, inclusion, and cultural pride. The story will be instantly relatable to readers who have ever felt different.
Designed with a playful emphasis on typography, and Thao's own childhood photos added to her signature cut-paper collage, THAO champions being true to yourself and your background, and being empathetic towards others. It is a celebration of all that's in a name and the power of owning your identity.

Item No. 9781771474320
$17.95
The Lost Lake
Say, Allen

 Staff Pick

Luke and his father, who is disgusted by the tourists surrounding the once secluded lake of his childhood, hike deeper into the wilderness to find a lost lake of their own.
Item No. 9780395509333
$16.00
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy
Acho, Emmanuel

 Staff Pick

Adapted from Emmanuel Acho's New York Times bestseller Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man, comes an essential young readers edition aimed at opening a dialogue about systemic racism with our youngest generation.

Young people have the power to affect sweeping change, and the key to mending the racial divide in America lies in giving them the tools to ask honest questions and take in the difficult answers.

Approaching every awkward, taboo, and uncomfortable question with openness and patience, Emmanuel Acho connects his own experience with race and racism--from attending majority-white prep schools to his time in the NFL playing on majority-black football teams--to insightful lessons in black history and black culture.
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy is just one way young readers can begin to short circuit racism within their own lives and communities.

Item No. 9781250801067
$17.99
Under The Spell Of The Moon

 Staff Pick

The illustrated picture book is one of the most important genres of children's literature. Great artists have devoted some or all of their working lives to creating art that accompanies a text written for children. While book illustration has been practiced for thousands of years, picture book illustration is a relatively new phenomena.

IBBY (the International Board on Books for Children), at the heart of whose mandate lies the promotion of books of the highest quality, has been honoring illustrators through the Hans Christian Andersen Awards for nearly forty years. IBBY has also been helping to support the spread of book illustration for children to countries and cultures where such artistic activity is relatively new. In honor of IBBY's work and to support its future work, many of the world's greatest illustrators for children have donated art based on a text of their choice drawn from their childhood and culture. The result is a book that celebrates art created for children from around the world. The texts in the book are in both the original language and in English. Noted author and editor Stan Dragland has translated the texts.Groundwood Books will pay a royalty of 15% of all sales to IBBY.

Item No. 9780888995599
$25.00