About Writing & Publishing

642 Things to Write (Young Writer Edition)
826 Valencia
Write a to-do list for a villain. Describe your dream tree house. Create a haiku about your shoes.
Young writers will get their creative juices flowing with this collection of smart, funny, and thought-provoking writing exercises. Kids can open to any page to find inspiration, express themselves, and jump-start their literary genius. Collected from the clever minds of 826 Valencia, 642 Things to Write About: Young Writer's Edition is the ultimate playground for imaginative children.
Item No. 9781452127842
$16.95
product image
San Francisco Writers' Grotto
This collection of 642 outrageous and witty writing prompts will get the creative juices flowing in no time. From crafting your own obituary to penning an ode to an onion, each page of this playful journal invites inspiration and provides plenty of space to write. Brimming with entertaining exercises from the literary minds of the San Francisco Writers' Grotto, this is the ultimate gift for scribes of every stripe.
Item No. 9781452105444
$16.95
product image
San Francisco Writers' Grotto
The next installment in the bestselling series presents 642 writing prompts in an irresistible new format. Delightful and thought-provoking, this book is perfect for stumped writers, journalers, or any creative type needing a tiny flash of inspiration.
Item No. 9781452142173
$9.95
Compendium of Collective Nouns
Woop Studios
This illustrated guide compiles over 2,000 collective nouns and brings them to life in stunningly colorful, graphic artwork from the design dynamos at Woop Studios. Chock-full of treasures of the English language, the diversity of terms collected here covers topics from plants and animals (a parade of elephants, an embarrassment of pandas) to people and things (a pomposity of professors, an exultation of fireworks) and range from the familiar (a pride of lions) to the downright obscure (an ooze of amoebas). Pronunciations, definitions, etymologies, and historical anecdotes make this beautiful book an entertaining read, a standout reference, and a visual treat. Language lovers and art appreciators alike will be captivated by this gem, rich in word and image.
Item No. 9781452108230
$35.00
product image
Wood, James

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh?

James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Make Way for Ducklings, from the Bible to John le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, How Fiction Works will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page.

Item No. 9780312428471
$17.00
Moser Book Plate & One Hundred Portraits - Hardcover
Moser, Barry

Free book plate autographed by Barry Moser with purchase.

Barry Moser is one of the most successful and critically acclaimed wood engravers in the world. Portraits have long been a staple of his career, from his first book in 1970 onwards. This title brings together a collection of fifty of Moser's best known portraits, and includes portraits of: Charles Dickens; Edgar Allen Poe; and Jane Austen.
Item No. 9781567923667
$35.00
The Elements of Style - Softcover
White, E B
The only style manual to ever appear on a bestseller list now refreshed by one of our most beloved illustrators

Every English writer knows Strunk and White's The Elements of Style. The book's mantra, make every word tell, is still on point. This much-loved classic, now in its fourth edition, will forever be the go-to guide when in need of a hint to make a turn of phrase clearer or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active voice. The only style manual to ever appear on bestseller lists has explained to millions of readers the basic principals of plain English, and Maira Kalman's fifty-seven exquisite illustrations give the revered work a jolt of new energy, making the learning experience more colorful and clear.

Item No. 9780143112723
$18.00
product image
Jeff VanderMeer
This all-new definitive guide to writing imaginative fiction takes a completely novel approach and fully exploits the visual nature of fantasy through original drawings, maps, renderings, and exercises to create a spectacularly beautiful and inspiring object. Employing an accessible, example-rich approach, Wonderbook energizes and motivates while also providing practical, nuts-and-bolts information needed to improve as a writer. Aimed at aspiring and intermediate-level writers, Wonderbook includes helpful sidebars and essays from some of the biggest names in fantasy today, such as George R. R. Martin, Lev Grossman, Neil Gaiman, Michael Moorcock, Catherynne M. Valente, and Karen Joy Fowler, to name a few.

Praise for Wonderbook:

“Jammed with storytelling wisdom.” —Fast Company’s Co.Create blog

“This is the kind of book you leave sitting out for all to see . . . and the kind of book you will find yourself picking up again and again.” —Kirkus Reviews online

“If you’re looking for a handy guide to not just crafting imaginative fiction like sci-fi, fantasy, and horror, but to writing in general, be sure to pick up a copy of Steampunk Bible author Jeff Vandermeer’s lovingly compiled Wonderbook."  —Flavorwire

“Jeff Vandermeer and Jeremy Zerfoss have created a kaleidoscopically rich and beautiful book about fiction writing.”  —Star Tribune

“Because it is so layered and filled with text, tips, and links to online extras, this book can be read again and again by both those who want to learn the craft of writing and those interested in the process of others.” —Library Journal
Item No. 9781419704420
$24.95
product image
Louie Stowell
This is a companion to the very successful Write Your Own Storybook - for kids who want to tell stories, but gravitate toward pictures. Has a mix of partially-drawn comics and blank panels with intro comics as instructions - lots of space for kids to draw their own comics, but they're never left fully alone with a scary blank page.
Item No. 9780794521219
$15.99
product image
Larue, Nicole
Discover, imagine, observe, explore, document, draw, share, and play with this illustrated guided journal for tweens. With quirky prompts, cool quotes, and terrific illustrations, this one-of-a-kind journal is the ultimate place for young writers to get creative and get writing!
Item No. 9781452129396
$14.95
product image
Stowell, Louis
Have you ever wanted to write a story, but wondered where to start? The Write Your Own Story Book is here to help. It's full of inspiring ideas for all kinds of different stories, with space of you to write them in and writing tips to help you on your way.
Item No. 9780794530198
$14.99
product image
Levine, Gail Carson

Bestselling author of Ella Enchanted and fairy-tale master Gail Carson Levine shares her secrets of great writing in this companion to the popular Writing Magic.

Have you ever wanted to captivate readers with a great opening, create spectacular and fantastical creatures, make up an entire country, realize a dastardly villain, write an epic love story, or make your characters leap off the page? If you answered yes to any of these questions, Gail Carson Levine can help you achieve your goals.

Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine offers a behind-the-scenes take on writing and teaches you how to become a world-class author. Drawing from her popular blog, Gail answers readers' fiction- and poetry-writing questions and dives into how to make a story come alive. If you're interested in writing prose and poetry or just want to be a better and more rounded writer, this book will help you on your creative journey.

With her trademark humor and vast writing knowledge, Gail Carson Levine reveals the tricks of her trade, writer to writer.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Item No. 9780062275295
$6.99
product image
Levine, Gail Carson

Bestselling author of Ella Enchanted and fairy-tale master Gail Carson Levine helps you make magic with your writing!

In Writing Magic, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine shares her tricks of the trade. She shows how you can get terrific ideas for stories, invent great beginnings and endings, write sparkling dialogue, develop memorable characters--and much, much more. She advises you about what to do when you feel stuck--and how to use helpful criticism. Best of all, she offers writing exercises that will set your imagination on fire.

With humor, honesty, and wisdom, Gail Carson Levine shows you that you, too, can make magic with your writing.

Item No. 9780062367174
$7.99
Writing With Pictures
Shulevitz, Uri
Writing with Pictures is a step-by-step guide to creating children's books. It offers advice covering a book's preliminary stages through publication, and describes how to tell a story visually, develop settings, and draw characters.
Item No. 9780823059355
$29.95