About Writing & Publishing

642 Things to Write (Young Writer Edition)
826 Valencia
Write a to-do list for a villain. Describe your dream tree house. Create a haiku about your shoes.

Young writers will get their creative juices flowing with this collection of smart, funny, and thought-provoking writing exercises. Kids can open to any page to find inspiration, express themselves, and jump-start their literary genius. Collected from the clever minds of 826 Valencia, 642 Things to Write About: Young Writer's Edition is the ultimate playground for imaginative children.

Item No. 9781452127842
$16.95
product image
San Francisco Writers' Grotto
"This is a great book if your creative juices are running dry." -- Portland Book Review

A collection of 642 outrageous and witty writing prompts: Banish writer's block with 642 Things to Write, a fun and playful journal that invites inspiration with plenty of space to write it all down. Brimming with entertaining exercises, this writing prompt journal is sure to get the creative juices flowing.

- From crafting your own obituary and penning an ode to an onion, to telling a dying houseplant why it should live and making a case for your favorite fruit, writers of all levels will stretch their imaginations and put pen to paper.
- From ridiculous to philosophical, the 642 writing prompts are sure to stimulate the mind and encourage creativity- From the literary minds of the San Francisco Writers' Grotto, a workspace and creative community in downtown San Francisco. Thirty-five writers from The Grotto contributed to this prompt journal.

642 Things to Write About prompt journal will appeal to both novice and seasoned writers.

Inspire creativity with 642 Thing to Write About.

- The ultimate gift for writers of all shapes, sizes and genres
- Creative writing journal offers hours and hours of amusing scenarios to reflect and write on

Item No. 9781452105444
$16.95
product image
San Francisco Writers' Grotto
The next installment in the bestselling series presents 642 writing prompts in an irresistible new format. Delightful and thought-provoking, this book is perfect for stumped writers, journalers, or any creative type needing a tiny flash of inspiration.
Item No. 9781452142173
$9.95
Compendium of Collective Nouns
Woop Studios
This illustrated guide compiles over 2,000 collective nouns and brings them to life in stunningly colorful, graphic artwork from the design dynamos at Woop Studios. Chock-full of treasures of the English language, the diversity of terms collected here covers topics from plants and animals (a parade of elephants, an embarrassment of pandas) to people and things (a pomposity of professors, an exultation of fireworks) and range from the familiar (a pride of lions) to the downright obscure (an ooze of amoebas). Pronunciations, definitions, etymologies, and historical anecdotes make this beautiful book an entertaining read, a standout reference, and a visual treat. Language lovers and art appreciators alike will be captivated by this gem, rich in word and image.
Item No. 9781452108230
$35.00
product image
Pullman, Philip
From the internationally best-selling author of the His Dark Materials trilogy, a spellbinding journey into the secrets of his art--the narratives that have shaped his vision, his experience of writing, and the keys to mastering the art of storytelling.

One of the most highly acclaimed and best-selling authors of our time now gives us a book that charts the history of his own enchantment with story--from his own books to those of Blake, Milton, Dickens, and the Brothers Grimm, among others--and delves into the role of story in education, religion, and science. At once personal and wide-ranging, Daemon Voices is both a revelation of the writing mind and the methods of a great contemporary master, and a fascinating exploration of storytelling itself.

Item No. 9780525521174
$30.00
product image
Madden, Matt

"A gold mine of essential information for every aspiring comics artist. Highly recommended." --Scott McCloud

Drawing Words and Writing Pictures is a course on comic creation - for college classes or for independent study - that centers on storytelling and concludes with making a finished comic. With chapters on lettering, story structure, and panel layout, the fifteen lessons offered - each complete with homework, extra credit activities and supplementary reading suggestions - provide a solid introduction for people interested in making their own comics. Additional resources, lessons, and after-class help are available on the DW-WP website.

Item No. 9781596431317
$36.99
product image
Wood, James

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating study of the magic of fiction--an analysis of its main elements and a celebration of its lasting power. Here one of the most prominent and stylish critics of our time looks into the machinery of storytelling to ask some fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we "know" a fictional character? What constitutes a telling detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is Realism realistic? Why do some literary conventions become dated while others stay fresh?

James Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Make Way for Ducklings, from the Bible to John le Carré, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, How Fiction Works will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone else interested in what happens on the page.

Item No. 9780312428471
$17.00
product image
Madden, Matt

A new course of material to accompany First Second's widely acclaimed 2008 comics textbook.

In their hotly anticipated follow-up to 2008's comics textbook Drawing Words & Writing Pictures, School of Visual Arts cartooning professors Matt Madden and Jessica Abel bring their expertise to bear on the "second semester" of a course of study for the budding cartoonist.

Covering advanced topics such as story composition, coloring, and file formatting, Mastering Comics is a vital companion to the introductory content of the first volume.

Item No. 9781596436176
$39.99
Moser Book Plate & One Hundred Portraits - Hardcover
Moser, Barry

Free book plate autographed by Barry Moser with purchase.

Barry Moser is one of the most successful and critically acclaimed wood engravers in the world. Portraits have long been a staple of his career, from his first book in 1970 onwards. This title brings together a collection of fifty of Moser's best known portraits, and includes portraits of: Charles Dickens; Edgar Allen Poe; and Jane Austen.
Item No. 9781567923667
$35.00
Silly Starters Write-About Prompts

Young writers are sure to enjoy responding to these fun writing starters! Select a writing task, an object to write about, and an unusual and humorous quality that object has. Each custom-made starter is sure to spark creativity, tickle funny bones, and build writing skills. Perfect for grades 4-8.

Item No. 789892020203
$16.95
product image
Moleskine
The Moleskine Art Plus Large Storyboard Notebook is perfect for advertisers, graphic designers and filmmakers and it has 104 pages with 4 frames per page.

Specifications:
- Layout: Structured; 4 Frames per Page
- Dimensions: 5" x 8-1/4"
- Hard Cover with elastic closure and bookmark ribbon.
- Color: Black
- Pages: 104
- Internal Accordion Pocket
- Paper Weight: 165 gsm/111 lb.; FSC Certified Paper; Acid-Free (pH Neutral)

Item No. 9788862933117
$19.95
product image
Louie Stowell
This is a companion to the very successful Write Your Own Storybook - for kids who want to tell stories, but gravitate toward pictures. Has a mix of partially-drawn comics and blank panels with intro comics as instructions - lots of space for kids to draw their own comics, but they're never left fully alone with a scary blank page.
Item No. 9780794521219
$15.99
product image
Lee, Naomi Davis
Discover, imagine, observe, explore, document, draw, share, and play with this illustrated guided journal for tweens. With quirky prompts, cool quotes, and terrific illustrations, this one-of-a-kind journal is the ultimate place for young writers to get creative and get writing!
Item No. 9781452129396
$14.95
product image
Stowell, Louis
Have you ever wanted to write a story, but wondered where to start? The Write Your Own Story Book is here to help. It's full of inspiring ideas for all kinds of different stories, with space of you to write them in and writing tips to help you on your way.
Item No. 9780794530198
$14.99
product image
Levine, Gail Carson

Bestselling author of Ella Enchanted and fairy-tale master Gail Carson Levine shares her secrets of great writing in this companion to the popular Writing Magic.

Have you ever wanted to captivate readers with a great opening, create spectacular and fantastical creatures, make up an entire country, realize a dastardly villain, write an epic love story, or make your characters leap off the page? If you answered yes to any of these questions, Gail Carson Levine can help you achieve your goals.

Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine offers a behind-the-scenes take on writing and teaches you how to become a world-class author. Drawing from her popular blog, Gail answers readers' fiction- and poetry-writing questions and dives into how to make a story come alive. If you're interested in writing prose and poetry or just want to be a better and more rounded writer, this book will help you on your creative journey.

With her trademark humor and vast writing knowledge, Gail Carson Levine reveals the tricks of her trade, writer to writer.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Item No. 9780062275295
$6.99
product image
Levine, Gail Carson

Fairy-tale master Gail Carson, the bestselling author of Ella Enchanted, guides writers of all ages on how to develop their craft, with practical advice and heartfelt encouragement.

In Writing Magic, Newbery Honor author Gail Carson Levine shares her tricks of the trade. She shows how you can get terrific ideas for stories, invent great beginnings and endings, write sparkling dialogue, develop memorable characters--and much, much more.

She advises you about what to do when you feel stuck--and how to use helpful criticism. Best of all, she offers writing exercises that will set your imagination on fire.

With humor, honesty, and wisdom, Gail Carson Levine shows you that you, too, can make magic with your writing.

Item No. 9780062367174
$7.99