X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Award Winners

A Letter for Bob
Rogers, Kim

With humor and heart, and brought to life by Jonathan Nelson's warm, distinctive artwork, Kim Rogers's A Letter for Bob celebrates the treasured cars that carry us through our most meaningful childhood moments.

Ever since the day Mom and Dad brought Bob home from...

Item No. 9780063044555
$19.99
Alebrijies
Higuera, Donna Barba

BEST OF THE YEAR
New York Times - Kirkus - Booklist - Chicago Public Library

The next follow-up novel from Newbery and Pura Belpré Award-winning author of The Last Cuentista

For 400 years, Earth has been a barren wasteland. The few humans...

Item No. 9781646142637
$18.99
Berry Song
Goade, Michaela

A Caldecott Honor Book!

An Indie Bestseller!

Caldecott Medalist Michaela Goade's first self-authored picture book is a gorgeous celebration of the land she knows well and the powerful wisdom of elders.

On an island at the edge of a wide, wild sea, a girl and her...

Item No. 9780316494175
$18.99
Collectors: Stories
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
From Michael L. Printz Award winner A.S. King and an all-star team of contributors including Anna-Marie McLemore and Jason Reynolds, an anthology of stories about remarkable people and their strange and surprising collections.

From David Levithan's story about a non-binary kid collecting...

Item No. 9780593620281
$19.99
Cross My Heart and Never Lie
Dåsnes, Nora
In this fresh, sensitive, diary-style graphic novel, 12-year-old Tuva's questions about becoming a teenager are confusing--so when her first crush turns out to be on another girl, it feels absolutely wonderful--so why does it become so complicated?

Perfect for fans of The Girl from the...

Item No. 9781662640575
$17.99
Elf Dog and Owl Head
Anderson, M T
From the singular imagination of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson comes a magical adventure about a boy and his dog--or a dog and her boy--and a forest of wonders hidden in plain sight.

Clay has had his fill of home life. A global plague has brought the world to a screeching...

Item No. 9781536222814
$18.99
Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam
Pham, Thien

A moving young adult graphic memoir about a Vietnamese immigrant boy's search for belonging in America, perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and The Best We Could Do!

Thien's first memory isn't a sight or a sound. It's the sweetness of watermelon and the saltiness...

Item No. 9781250809728
$17.99
Fox Has a Problem
Tabor, Corey R

A Geisel Award winner! In his next I Can Read adventure, Fox--the hilarious trickster character featured in previous Geisel Award winners Fox at Night and Fox the Tiger--learns to solve a problem in an unexpected way.

Fox has a problem: His kite is stuck...

Item No. 9780063277922
$5.99
Good Different
Kuyatt, Meg Eden

"The next Wonder. Good Different should be required reading." -- Good Morning America

An extraordinary novel-in-verse for fans of Starfish and A Kind of Spark about a neurodivergent girl who comes to understand and celebrate her difference.

...

Item No. 9781338816105
$18.99
Henry, Like Always
Bailey, Jenn
A NPR 2023 Books We Love Pick
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2023
A 2023 Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book

A beginning chapter book series based on the award-winning picture book, A Friend for Henry!

Henry likes Classroom Ten. He...

Item No. 9781797213897
$14.99
Holding Her Own: The Exceptional Life of Jackie Ormes
Todd, Traci N

  Staff Pick

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book - Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

An evocative picture book biography about the prolific life of Jackie Ormes, whose groundbreaking cartoons became some of the first empowering depictions of Black women in America!

Jackie Ormes made...

Item No. 9781338305906
$21.99
How Do You Spell Unfair? Macnolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee
Weatherford, Carole Boston
From a multi-award-winning pair comes a deeply affecting portrait of determination against discrimination: the story of young spelling champion MacNolia Cox.

MacNolia Cox was no ordinary kid.
Her idea of fun was reading the dictionary.

In 1936, eighth grader...

Item No. 9781536215540
$18.99
In Every Life - Autographed
Frazee, Marla
A simple and profound meditation on the many wonders of life from two-time Caldecott Honor recipient Marla Frazee.

In every life, there is love and loss, hope and joy, wonder and mystery. With glowing art and spare, powerful text, Caldecott Honor-winning creator Marla Frazee celebrates...

Item No. 9781665912488
$18.99
Jo Jo Makoons #2 Fancy Pants
Quigley, Dawn

Filled with lots of glitter, raised pinkies, and humorous misunderstandings, this second book in the Jo Jo Makoons series--written by Dawn Quigley and illustrated by Tara Audibert--is filled with the joy of a young Ojibwe girl discovering her very own special shine from the inside out...

Item No. 9780063015418
$5.99
Jo Jo Makoons #3 Snow Day
Quigley, Dawn

Oh, snow day, snow day, what a very fun no-school day! Jo Jo Makoons is back in the third book in this favorite chapter book series, and she's planning the very best version of the winter Olympics that her Ojibwe community has ever seen...

Jo Jo Makoons has noticed that...

Item No. 9780063015449
$6.99
Jovita Wore Pants
Salazar, Aida

**A CALDECOTT HONOR BOOK**

The remarkable true story of Jovita Valdovinos, a Mexican revolutionary who disguised herself as a man to fight for her rights!

* "Graceful . . deft . . . mesmerizing. . . . Bravery and determination prevail in this inspiring tale...

Item No. 9781338283419
$19.99
Jumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping Spider
Lanan, Jessica

From critically acclaimed illustrator of The Lost Package comes a bold nonfiction story following a day in the life of a backyard jumping spider - meticulously researched and utterly charming.

What if you were small as a bean,
Could walk on the walls and ceiling,...

Item No. 9781250810366
$19.99
MexiKid
Martín, Pedro
An unforgettable graphic memoir about a Mexican American boy's family and their adventure-filled road trip to bring their abuelito back from Mexico to live with them that National Book Award Finalist Victoria Jamieson calls "one of those books that kids will pass to their friends as soon as they...
Item No. 9780593462294
$14.99
Mona Lisa Vanishes
Day, Nicholas
A propulsive work of narrative nonfiction about how the Mona Lisa was stolen from the Louvre, how the robbery made the portrait the most famous artwork in the world--and how the painting by Leonardo da Vinci should never have existed at all.

An Amazon Best Book of the Year - A ...

Item No. 9780593643846
$19.99
Nigeria Jones
Zoboi, Ibi

"An unwavering proclamation of Black girlhood." --Candice Iloh, author of National Book Award finalist Every Body Looking

From Ibi Zoboi, bestselling, award-winning author of American Street and co-author of Punching the Air, comes a bold...

Item No. 9780062888846
$19.99
Not He or She, I'm Me
Wild, A M

"The warmth of everyday gender euphoria is burnished to brilliant radiance" (BCCB, starred review) in this joyous picture book about a day in the life of a non-binary child.

A child gets ready for a wonderful day. They gleefully get dressed, hug their parents, go to school...

Item No. 9781250818607
$18.99
Otherwoods
Winans, Justine Pucella

A Stonewall Honor Winner
Indie Next Pick
PW Best Book of the Year
Booklist Editor's Pick

The Otherwoods is calling. And it won't be ignored.

Some would call River Rydell a 'chosen one' born with the ability to see...

Item No. 9781547612543
$17.99
Papa's Magical Water-Jug Clock
Trejo, Jesús
★ Kirkus Reviews ★ Publishers Weekly ★ School Library Journal In Mexican American comedian Jesús Trejo's debut picture book, a little boy makes a big, funny mistake and learns the value of resources like time and water--both of which have a magic all their own.

...

Item No. 9781662651045
$18.99
Parachute Kids
Tang, Betty C

**A National Book Award Longlist Title in the Young People's Literature Category**

This funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants is perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk.

...
Item No. 9781338832686
$12.99
Remember
Harjo, Joy
THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER - US Poet Laureate Joy Harjo's iconic poem "Remember," illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Michaela Goade, invites young readers to pause and reflect on the wonder of the world around them, and to remember the importance of their place in it.

Remember the sky you...

Item No. 9780593484845
$18.99