X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Award Winners

A Letter for Bob
Rogers, Kim

With humor and heart, and brought to life by Jonathan Nelson's warm, distinctive artwork, Kim Rogers's A Letter for Bob celebrates the treasured cars that carry us through our most meaningful childhood moments.

Ever since the day Mom and Dad brought Bob home from...

Item No. 9780063044555
$19.99
Alebrijies
Higuera, Donna Barba

PURA BELPRÉ HONOR WINNER

BEST OF THE YEAR
New York Times - Kirkus - Booklist - Chicago Public Library

The follow-up to Newbery and Pura Belpré Award-winning The Last Cuentista

For 400 years, Earth has been a barren wasteland. The...

Item No. 9781646142637
$18.99
Collectors: Stories
Torres Sanchez, Jenny
Winner of the 2024 Michael L. Printz Award
A National Bestseller

From Michael L. Printz Award winner A.S. King and an all-star team of contributors including Anna-Marie McLemore and Jason Reynolds, an anthology of stories about remarkable people and their strange and surprising...

Item No. 9780593620281
$19.99
Cross My Heart and Never Lie
Dåsnes, Nora

  Staff Pick

★ WINNER of the 2024 Stonewall Book Award, American Library Association

Perfect for fans of The Girl from the Sea by Molly Knox Ostertag, HeartStopper by Alice Oseman, and Jen Wang's The Dressmaker and the Prince....

Item No. 9781662640575
$17.99
Elf Dog and Owl Head
Anderson, M T
A Newbery Honor Book

"A hilarious, heartfelt triumph."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

From the singular imagination of National Book Award winner M. T. Anderson comes a magical adventure about a boy and his dog--or a dog and her boy--and a forest of wonders hidden in...

Item No. 9781536222814
$18.99
Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam
Pham, Thien

A moving young adult graphic memoir about a Vietnamese immigrant boy's search for belonging in America, perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and The Best We Could Do!

Thien's first memory isn't a sight or a sound. It's the sweetness of watermelon and the saltiness...

Item No. 9781250809728
$17.99
Fox Has a Problem
Tabor, Corey R

A Geisel Award winner! In his next I Can Read adventure, Fox--the hilarious trickster character featured in previous Geisel Award winners Fox at Night and Fox the Tiger--learns to solve a problem in an unexpected way.

Fox has a problem: His kite is stuck...

Item No. 9780063277922
$5.99
Good Different
Kuyatt, Meg Eden

A Schneider Family Book Award Honor Book

An extraordinary novel-in-verse for fans of Starfish and A Kind of Spark about a neurodivergent girl who comes to understand and celebrate her difference.

Selah knows her rules for being normal.

She...

Item No. 9781338816105
$18.99
Henry, Like Always
Bailey, Jenn
A NPR 2023 Books We Love Pick
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2023
A 2023 Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book

A beginning chapter book series based on the award-winning picture book, A Friend for Henry!

Henry likes Classroom Ten. He...

Item No. 9781797213897
$14.99
Holding Her Own: The Exceptional Life of Jackie Ormes
Todd, Traci N

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book - Robert F. Sibert Honor Book

An evocative picture book biography about the prolific life of Jackie Ormes, whose groundbreaking cartoons became some of the first empowering depictions of Black women in America!

Jackie Ormes made...

Item No. 9781338305906
$21.99
How Do You Spell Unfair? Macnolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee
Weatherford, Carole Boston
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

"This moving picture book portrays a girl who met injustice with dignity and excelled."--Booklist (starred review)

From a multi-award-winning pair comes a deeply affecting portrait of determination against discrimination: the story of...

Item No. 9781536215540
$18.99
In Every Life - Autographed
Frazee, Marla
This Caldecott Honor picture book is a simple and profound meditation on the many wonders of life from three-time Caldecott Honor recipient Marla Frazee.

In every life, there is love and loss, hope and joy, wonder and mystery. With glowing art and spare, powerful text, Caldecott Honor-...

Item No. 9781665912488
$18.99
Jo Jo Makoons #2 Fancy Pants
Quigley, Dawn

Filled with lots of glitter, raised pinkies, and humorous misunderstandings, this second book in the Jo Jo Makoons series--written by Dawn Quigley and illustrated by Tara Audibert--is filled with the joy of a young Ojibwe girl discovering her very own special shine from the inside out...

Item No. 9780063015418
$5.99
Jo Jo Makoons #3 Snow Day
Quigley, Dawn

Oh, snow day, snow day, what a very fun no-school day! Jo Jo Makoons is back in the third book in this favorite chapter book series, and she's planning the very best version of the winter Olympics that her Ojibwe community has ever seen...

Jo Jo Makoons has noticed that...

Item No. 9780063015449
$6.99
Jovita Wore Pants
Salazar, Aida

**A CALDECOTT HONOR BOOK**

The remarkable true story of Jovita Valdovinos, a Mexican revolutionary who disguised herself as a man to fight for her rights!

* "Graceful . . deft . . . mesmerizing. . . . Bravery and determination prevail in this inspiring tale...

Item No. 9781338283419
$19.99
Jumper: A Day in the Life of a Backyard Jumping Spider
Lanan, Jessica

From critically acclaimed illustrator of The Lost Package comes a bold nonfiction story following a day in the life of a backyard jumping spider - meticulously researched and utterly charming.

What if you were small as a bean,
Could walk on the walls and ceiling,...

Item No. 9781250810366
$19.99
MexiKid
Martín, Pedro
An unforgettable graphic memoir about a Mexican American boy's family and their adventure-filled road trip to bring their abuelito back from Mexico to live with them that National Book Award Finalist Victoria Jamieson calls "one of those books that kids will pass to their friends as soon as they...
Item No. 9780593462294
$14.99
Nigeria Jones
Zoboi, Ibi

"An unwavering proclamation of Black girlhood." --Candice Iloh, author of National Book Award finalist Every Body Looking

From Ibi Zoboi, bestselling, award-winning author of American Street and co-author of Punching the Air, comes a bold...

Item No. 9780062888846
$19.99
Not He or She, I'm Me
Wild, A M

A Stonewall Book Award Honor Book

"The warmth of everyday gender euphoria is burnished to brilliant radiance" (BCCB, starred review) in this joyous picture book about a day in the life of a non-binary child.

A child gets ready for a wonderful day. They gleefully...

Item No. 9781250818607
$18.99
Otherwoods
Winans, Justine Pucella

A Stonewall Honor Winner
Indie Next Pick
PW Best Book of the Year
Booklist Editor's Pick

The Otherwoods is calling. And it won't be ignored.

Some would call River Rydell a 'chosen one' born with the ability to see...

Item No. 9781547612543
$17.99
Papa's Magical Water-Jug Clock
Trejo, Jesús
★ Kirkus Reviews ★ Publishers Weekly ★ School Library Journal In Mexican American comedian Jesús Trejo's debut picture book, a little boy makes a big, funny mistake and learns the value of resources like time and water--both of which have a magic all their own.

...

Item No. 9781662651045
$18.99
Parachute Kids
Tang, Betty C

**National Book Award Longlist Title**

**Asian/Pacific American Award Honor Book**

This funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants is perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk....

Item No. 9781338832686
$12.99
Remember
Harjo, Joy
THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER - AN AMERICAN INDIAN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION HONOR BOOK - A BOSTON GLOBE-HORN BOOK HONOR AWARD - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY School Library Journal - Publishers Weekly - The Horn Book - NPR - The Bulletin - Kirkus Reviews...
Item No. 9780593484845
$18.99
Rez Ball
Graves, Byron

This compelling debut novel by new talent Byron Graves tells the relatable, high-stakes story of a young athlete determined to play like the hero his Ojibwe community needs him to be.

These days, Tre Brun is happiest when he is playing basketball on the Red Lake...

Item No. 9780063160378
$19.99
Rock Your Mocs
Goodluck, Laurel

In this happy, vibrant tribute to Rock Your Mocs Day, observed yearly on November 15, author Laurel Goodluck (Mandan, Hidatsa, and Tsimshian) and artist Madelyn Goodnight (Chickasaw) celebrate the joy and power of wearing moccasins--and the Native pride...

Item No. 9780063099890
$19.99