Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.

Please note: We are currently unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Beginner Chapter Book: Ages 6-8

Layla and the Bots #3 Cupcake Fix
Fang, Vicky
Layla and the Bots are building a SWEET new invention!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every page,...
Item No. 9781338582970
$5.99
Lulu and the Brontosaurus
Viorst, Judith
Now in paperback, an illustrated chapter book from industry legends Judith Viorst and Lane Smith!

I'm gonna, I'm gonna, I'm gonna, gonna, get
a bronto-bronto-bronto-bronto-saurus for a pet!

Lulu is so accustomed to getting what she wants that when her parents...

Item No. 9781416999621
$8.99
Lulu Walks the Dogs
Viorst, Judith
Feisty Lulu sets out to make some dough in this illustrated chapter book with "plenty of appeal" (Kirkus Reviews) from children's book legends Judith Viorst and Lane Smith.

The stubbornly hilarious Lulu has decided it's time to buckle down and earn some cash. How else can she save...

Item No. 9781442435803
$7.99
Lulu's Mysterious Mission
Viorst, Judith
This irresistible illustrated chapter book starring Judith Viorst's Lulu is full of hilarious hijinks, delightful twists, and a top-secret mission!

Eeny meeny miney mo,
That babysitter's got to go.

Lulu has put her tantrum-throwing days behind her. That is, until...

Item No. 9781442497474
$8.99
Magnificent Makers #4 Great Germ Hunt
Griffith, Theanne

Boom! Snap! Whiz! Zap! The Magnificent Makers chapter book series is filled with science, adventure, and characters kids will love! Every book includes two science activities kids can do at home!

This series is a modern day Magic School Bus for the chapter book...

Item No. 9780593379608
$5.99
Mercy Watson (Book 1) To the Rescue
DiCamillo, Kate
To Mr. and Mrs. Watson, Mercy is not just a pig she's a porcine wonder. And to the portly and good-natured Mercy, the Watsons are an excellent source of buttered toast, not to mention that buttery-toasty feeling she gets when she snuggles into bed with them. This is not, however, so good for the...
Item No. 9780763645045
$6.99
Mercy Watson (Book 2) Goes for a Ride
DiCamillo, Kate
The New York Times best-selling porcine wonder finds herself behind the wheel in this hilarious adventure available in paperback.

Mr. and Mrs. Watson's porcine wonder, Mercy, loves nothing more than a ride in the car. It takes a fair amount of nudging and bribing and a You are...

Item No. 9780763645052
$6.99
Mercy Watson (Book 3) Fights Crime
DiCamillo, Kate
Another rollicking addition starring the porcine wonder. . . . Will keep newly independent readers turning the pages. -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Leroy Ninker is a small man with a big dream: he wants to be a cowboy, but for now he's just a thief. In fact, Leroy is...

Item No. 9780763649524
$5.99
Mercy Watson (Book 4) Princess in Disguise
DiCamillo, Kate
Halloween was made for carefree Mercy Watson. -- School Library Journal

When the Watsons decide to zip their porcine wonder into a formfitting princess dress for Halloween -- complete with tiara -- they are certain that Mercy will be beautiful beyond compare. Mercy is equally...

Item No. 9780763649517
$5.99
Mercy Watson (Book 5) Think Like a Pig
DiCamillo, Kate
Can Mercy Watson outwit Animal Control? The porcine wonder's on the lam in her latest tongue-in-snout adventure!

Mercy's appetite has got her into trouble again. When Eugenia Lincoln's pansies go missing, Animal Control Officer Francine Poulet arrives on the scene. But as she soon...

Item No. 9780763652319
$5.99
Mermaid Days #1 Sunken Ship
Lukoff, Kyle

Dive under the sea with Mermaid Days, a series perfect for beginning readers!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format,...

Item No. 9781338794595
$4.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Mia Mayhem #1 Is a Superhero
West, Kara
Meet Mia Macarooney, an ordinary eight-year-old who finds out she has an extraordinary super-secret in this first chapter book in the brand-new Mia Mayhem series!

Mia Macarooney is a regular eight-year-old girl who finds out that she's A SUPERHERO! Her life literally goes from...

Item No. 9781534432697
$5.99
Mighty Meg #1 Magical Ring
Griffin, Sammy
In the first book of the Mighty Meg series, Meg receives a ring for her eighth birthday and wakes up with superpowers!

Meg's life is turned upside down when a magical ring gives her superpowers! But Meg isn't the only one who changes. Strange things start happening in her once-normal town, and...

Item No. 9781499808315
$6.99
Mindy Kim and the Lunar New Year Parade
Lee, Lyla
Fresh Off the Boat meets Junie B. Jones in this second novel in an adorable new chapter book series about Mindy Kim, a young Asian American girl who is getting ready to celebrate Lunar New Year!

Mindy is excited to celebrate the Lunar New Year! Even though it's the first one...

Item No. 9781534440104
$5.99
Mindy Kim and the Yummy Seaweed Business
Lee, Lyla
Fresh Off the Boat meets Junie B. Jones in this first novel in an adorable new chapter book series about Mindy Kim, a young Asian American girl who is starting a snack business!

Mindy Kim just wants three things:
1. A puppy!
2. To fit in at her new school
3. For...

Item No. 9781534440074
$5.99
Mouse Scouts #1
Dillard, Sarah
For fans of Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones comes a brand-new chapter book series: Mouse Scouts!

Meet Violet, Tigerlily, Hyacinth, Petunia, Junebug, and Cricket, six new Mouse Scouts who are trustworthy and strong, thrifty and brave . . . and destined to be friends to the end! Best...

Item No. 9780385756020
$6.99
Mr Putter & Tabby Pour the Tea
Rylant, Cynthia
Written by established authors, this book follows the prescribed formula for all beginning readers: they have large print, simple words, plenty of space between lines, and just enough pictures to keep the reader from feeling overwhelmed by the text.
Item No. 9780152009014
$5.99
Mr Putter & Tabby Spin the Yarn
Rylant, Cynthia
Mrs. Teaberry announces that she's starting a knitting club, and Mr. Putter is happy to help out. But disaster strikes when Tabby and Zeke want to pitch in, too: Mrs. Fitzwater's sweater completely unravels, and the whole afternoon ends up in quite a tangle.
Item No. 9780152060954
$5.99
Mr Putter & Tabby Write the Book
Rylant, Cynthia
Mr. Putter has always wanted to write a mystery novel--and Tabby is happy to help. But who knew there would be so many delicious distractions along the way?
Item No. 9780152002428
$5.99
My Father's Dragon - PB
Gannett, Ruth Stiles

 ...

When Elmer Elevator hears about the plight of an overworked and underappreciated baby flying dragon, he stows away on a ship and travels to Wild Island to rescue the dragon.

This book has been selected as a Common Core State Standards Text Exemplar (Grades 2-3, Stories) in Appendix B

Item No. 9780394890487
$7.95
Owly #4 Time to Be Brave
Runton, Andy
Owly, the little owl with a heart of gold, returns for another forest adventure in this Eisner-winning series about friendship!

For Owly and Wormy, nothing beats the power of friendship! But fear can be a powerful force, too. There's a new visitor to the forest, an opossum who's...

Item No. 9781338300710
$10.99
Poppleton in the Fall
Rylant, Cynthia
Fall is filled with fun for Poppleton, the posh and persnickety pig created by Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant and acclaimed illustrator Mark Teague!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read....
Item No. 9781338566734
$4.99
Prince of Fire: The Story of Diwali
Verma, Jatinder Nath
Action-packed from start to finish, this dramatic new chapter book version of India's great epic, The Ramayana, will have boys and girls alike on the edge of their seats. Full-color illustrations throughout vividly bring the story of Diwali to life, while courageous heroes and dastardly villains...
Item No. 9781782853077
$9.99
Princess Cora and the Crocodile-Autographed
Schlitz, Laura Amy
A Newbery Medalist and a Caldecott Medalist join forces to give an overscheduled princess a day off -- and a deliciously wicked crocodile a day on.

Princess Cora is sick of boring lessons. She's sick of running in circles around the dungeon gym. She's sick, sick, sick of...

Item No. 9781536208788
$7.99
Princess Stories: Dara's Clever Trap
In this folktale from Cambodia, Princess Dara must prove that her father's wicked ministers have set up her husband for a crime he is innocent of--
Item No. 9781782851035
$8.99