X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Beginner Chapter Book: Ages 6-8

JoJo Makoons #1 The Used-to-Be Best Friend
Quigley, Dawn


American Indian Youth Literature Award: Middle Grade Honor Book! Hello/Boozhoo--meet Jo Jo Makoons! Full of pride, joy, and plenty of humor, this first book in an all-new chapter book series by Dawn Quigley celebrates a spunky young Ojibwe girl who loves who she is....

Item No. 9780063015388
$5.99
Jo Jo Makoons #2 Fancy Pants
Quigley, Dawn

Filled with lots of glitter, raised pinkies, and humorous misunderstandings, this second book in the Jo Jo Makoons series--written by Dawn Quigley and illustrated by Tara Audibert--is filled with the joy of a young Ojibwe girl discovering her very own special shine from the inside out...

Item No. 9780063015418
$5.99
Jo Jo Makoons #3 Snow Day
Quigley, Dawn

Oh, snow day, snow day, what a very fun no-school day! Jo Jo Makoons is back in the third book in this favorite chapter book series, and she's planning the very best version of the winter Olympics that her Ojibwe community has ever seen...

Jo Jo Makoons has noticed that...

Item No. 9780063015449
$6.99
Juana & Lucas (Softcover)
Medina, Juana
"Refreshingly original. . . . Medina's beautiful, vivid prose conjures the Colombian setting with tactile language. . . . The story itself is a giant hug." -- The New York Times Book Review

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who...

Item No. 9781536206395
$7.99
Kraken Me Up
Ebbeler, Jeffrey
Izzie and her unusual pet make a big splash at the county fair in this punny easy reader comic from a beloved children's book illustrator and comics artist.

Izzie can't wait to debut her pet at the county fair. While the other children have brought pigs or chickens, Izzie brought a......

Item No. 9780823452019
$7.99
Layla and the Bots #2 Built for Speed
Fang, Vicky
Ready, set, go! Layla and the Bots are heading to the races!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early chapter book line Branches, aimed at newly independent readers. With easy-to-read text, high-interest content, fast-paced plots, and illustrations on every...
Item No. 9781338582925
$5.99
Letters to Anyone and Everyone
Tellegen, Toon
Award-winning author Toon Tellegen has written an enchanting collection of short stories, all centered on a series of poetic letters written by his animal protagonists.

These fantastic, dreamlike, and even philosophical tales conjure up a world where the creatures of the earth can send...

Item No. 9781914912214
$18.99
Lulu and the Brontosaurus
Viorst, Judith
Now in paperback, an illustrated chapter book from industry legends Judith Viorst and Lane Smith!

I'm gonna, I'm gonna, I'm gonna, gonna, get
a bronto-bronto-bronto-bronto-saurus for a pet!

Lulu is so accustomed to getting what she wants that when her parents...

Item No. 9781416999621
$8.99
Lulu's Mysterious Mission
Viorst, Judith
This irresistible illustrated chapter book starring Judith Viorst's Lulu is full of hilarious hijinks, delightful twists, and a top-secret mission!

Eeny meeny miney mo,
That babysitter's got to go.

Lulu has put her tantrum-throwing days behind her. That is, until...

Item No. 9781442497474
$8.99
Marya Khan #2 Fabulous Jasmine Garden
Faruqi, Saadia
Marya Khan and the Fabulous Jasmine Garden continues Saadia Faruqi and Ani Bushry's illustrated chapter book series about an ambitious Pakistani American third grader determined to prove herself--a perfect series for fans of Ivy...
Item No. 9781419761195
$6.99
Meet Yasmin
Faruqi, Saadia
Meet Yasmin! Yasmin is a spirited second-grader who's always on the lookout for those "aha" moments to help her solve life's little problems. Taking inspiration from her surroundings and her big imagination, she boldly faces any situation, assuming her imagination doesn't get too big, of course! A...
Item No. 9781684360222
$5.95
Mercy Watson (Book 1) To the Rescue
DiCamillo, Kate
To Mr. and Mrs. Watson, Mercy is not just a pig she's a porcine wonder. And to the portly and good-natured Mercy, the Watsons are an excellent source of buttered toast, not to mention that buttery-toasty feeling she gets when she snuggles into bed with them. This is not, however, so good for the...
Item No. 9780763645045
$6.99
Mercy Watson (Book 3) Fights Crime
DiCamillo, Kate
"Another rollicking addition starring the porcine wonder. . . . Will keep newly independent readers turning the pages. -- School Library Journal (starred review)

Leroy Ninker is a small man with a big dream: he wants to be a cowboy, but for now he's just a thief. In fact, Leroy is...

Item No. 9780763649524
$5.99
Mercy Watson (Book 4) Princess in Disguise
DiCamillo, Kate
"Halloween was made for carefree Mercy Watson." -- School Library Journal

When the Watsons decide to zip their porcine wonder into a formfitting princess dress for Halloween -- complete with tiara -- they are certain that Mercy will be beautiful beyond compare. Mercy is equally...

Item No. 9780763649517
$5.99
Mercy Watson (Book 5) Think Like a Pig
DiCamillo, Kate
Can Mercy Watson outwit Animal Control? The porcine wonder's on the lam in her latest tongue-in-snout adventure!

Mercy's appetite has got her into trouble again. When Eugenia Lincoln's pansies go missing, Animal Control Officer Francine Poulet arrives on the scene. But as she soon...

Item No. 9780763652319
$5.99
Mermaid Days #1 Sunken Ship - To Be Autographed 7/17
Lukoff, Kyle
Dive under the sea with Mermaid Days, a series perfect for beginning readers!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of...

Item No. 9781338794595
$4.99
Mermaid Days #3 A New Friend
Lukoff, Kyle
Vera and Beaker make a new friend when they meet a mantis shrimp, in this series perfect for beginning readers!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short...

Item No. 9781338794977
$4.99
Mia Mayhem #1 Is a Superhero
West, Kara
Meet Mia Macarooney, an ordinary eight-year-old who finds out she has an extraordinary super-secret in this first chapter book in the brand-new Mia Mayhem series!

Mia Macarooney is a regular eight-year-old girl who finds out that she's A SUPERHERO! Her life literally goes from...

Item No. 9781534432697
$6.99
Mighty Meg #1 Magical Ring
Griffin, Sammy
In the first book of the Mighty Meg series, Meg receives a ring for her eighth birthday and wakes up with superpowers!

Meg's life is turned upside down when a magical ring gives her superpowers! But Meg isn't the only one who changes. Strange things start happening in her once-normal...

Item No. 9781499808315
$6.99
Miles Lewis #2: Whiz Kid
Lyons, Kelly Starling
From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!

Miles Lewis has been waiting forever to be part of a city-wide science competition. Now his dream is finally coming true, and he's even part of an all-star team that...

Item No. 9780593383520
$6.99
Mindy Kim and the Lunar New Year Parade
Lee, Lyla
Fresh Off the Boat meets Junie B. Jones in this second novel in an adorable new chapter book series about Mindy Kim, a young Asian American girl who is getting ready to celebrate Lunar New Year!

Mindy is excited to celebrate the Lunar New Year! Even though it's the first one...

Item No. 9781534440104
$5.99
Mouse Scouts #1
Dillard, Sarah
For fans of Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones comes a brand-new chapter book series: Mouse Scouts!

Meet Violet, Tigerlily, Hyacinth, Petunia, Junebug, and Cricket, six new Mouse Scouts who are trustworthy and strong, thrifty and brave . . . and destined to be friends to the end! Best...

Item No. 9780385756020
$6.99
Mr Putter & Tabby Pour the Tea
Rylant, Cynthia


Written by established authors, this book follows the prescribed formula for all beginning readers: they have large print, simple words, plenty of space between lines, and just enough pictures to keep the reader from feeling overwhelmed by the text.
Item No. 9780152009014
$5.99
Mr Putter & Tabby Spin the Yarn
Rylant, Cynthia
Mrs. Teaberry announces that she's starting a knitting club, and Mr. Putter is happy to help out. But disaster strikes when Tabby and Zeke want to pitch in, too: Mrs. Fitzwater's sweater completely unravels, and the whole afternoon ends up in quite a tangle.
Item No. 9780152060954
$5.99
My Father's Dragon - PB
Gannett, Ruth Stiles

 ...

When Elmer Elevator hears about the plight of an overworked and underappreciated baby flying dragon, he stows away on a ship and travels to Wild Island to rescue the dragon.

This book has been selected as a Common Core State Standards Text Exemplar (Grades 2-3, Stories) in Appendix B

Item No. 9780394890487
$7.99