X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Beginner Chapter Book: Ages 6-8

Nguyen Kids #1 Secret of the Jade Bangle
Trinh, Linda

"Engaging and empowering"--STARRED review, Nonstop Reader

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social...

Item No. 9781773217161
$7.99
Nguyen Kids #2 Power of the Pearl Earrings
Trinh, Linda

A charming early chapter book series that explores Vietnamese culture and identity through the eyes of the Nguyen siblings, with elements of the supernatural, spirituality, and social justice woven in.



I touch my earrings and feel a rush of...

Item No. 9781773217116
$7.99
Orris and Timble: The Beginning
DiCamillo, Kate
From beloved storyteller Kate DiCamillo comes the first book in a warm and funny early-reader trilogy about a misanthropic rat and a naive owl--and the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Orris the rat lives alone in an old barn surrounded by his treasures, until the day his solitude...

Item No. 9781536222791
$16.99
Princess in Black #9 Mermaid Princess
Hale, Dean
There's trouble under the sea! Can the Princess in Black and her new mermaid friend put a stop to a big blue kraken's shenanigans?

The Princess in Black and her friends are enjoying a day of sun and sea on Princess Sneezewort's royal boat when a real, live mermaid princess emerges from...

Item No. 9781536225792
$6.99
Racing Ace #2 Build It! Jump It!
Brimner, Larry Dane
Ace builds a cool skateboard and learns how to skate in this fast-paced, STEM-themed early reader!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story...

Item No. 9781338553802
$4.99
Sarah, Plain & Tall (Paperback)
MacLachlan, Patricia

This beloved Newbery Medal-winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how...

Item No. 9780062399526
$7.99
Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell PB
Watt, Melanie
The time is now for this anxious little guy: Meet Scaredy Squirrel in his brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with...

Item No. 9780593568453
$7.99
A Song for Harlem
McKissack, Patricia

Autographed illustrator Gordon C. James

A historical chapter book series from three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and Newbery Honor author, Patricia C. McKissack.

For Lilly Belle, ?the capital of Black America? is about as far from her hometown of Smyrna, Tennessee, as a twelve-year-old can get?maybe not in...

Item No. 9780142412381
$6.99
Sideways Stories from Wayside School
Sachar, Louis
There'd been a terrible mistake. Wayside School was supposed to be built with thirty classrooms all next to each other in a row. Instead, they built the classrooms one on top of the other...thirty stories tall! (The builder said he was very sorry.)
Item No. 9780380698714
$9.99
Sona Sharma, Very Best Big Sister
Soundar, Chitra

  Staff Pick

Can Sona be the best big sister ever when she's not sure she even wants a baby sister or brother? Brimming with warmth and charm, this story set in India will resonate with new older siblings everywhere.

Sona Sharma's house is full of three generations of people who...

Item No. 9781536214826
$14.99
Teaflet and Roog Make a Mess
Birdsall, Jeanne
A silly, illustrated adventure from the National Book Award-winning author of The Penderwicks--perfect for children newly reading on their own!

Teaflet and her brother, Roog, are ready to throw their annual strawberry jam party for their friends in Trefldom. They want it to be the...

Item No. 9780593179116
$16.99
The Amazing Life of Azaleah Lane
Smith, Nikki Shannon
Azaleah can't wait for her class field trip to the National Zoo in Washington D.C., especially when her teacher announces the chance to earn extra credit. But when Azaleah gets home, she quickly realizes extra credit isn't as easy as she thought. Azaleah's younger sister Tiana can't find Greenie,...
Item No. 9781515844648
$14.95
Dragons Of Blueland
Gannett, Ruth Stiles
The third volume of the "My Father's Dragon" trilogy, this adventure
may be enjoyed on its own. Here, the baby dragon summons Elmer to help save his
family from hunters. "Elmer's plan is ingenious and plausible, the fantasy
well-sustained."--(starred) "Library Journal."
Item No. 9780394890500
$7.99
The Magnificent Makers: How to Test a Friendship
Griffith, Theanne
BOOM! SNAP! WHIZ! ZAP! The Magnificent Makers series is filled with science, adventure, and characters that readers will love! A modern-day Magic School Bus for chapter book readers!

This book includes two science activities kids can do at home! These quick educational activities (30...

Item No. 9780593122983
$6.99
The Magnificent Makers #2 Brain Trouble
Griffith, Theanne
BOOM! SNAP! WHIZ! ZAP! The Magnificent Makers series is filled with science, adventure, and characters that readers will love! A modern-day Magic School Bus for chapter book readers!

This book includes two science activities kids can do at home! These quick educational activities (30...

Item No. 9780593123010
$5.99
The Magnificent Makers #3 Riding the Sound Waves
Griffith, Theanne
Boom! Snap! Whiz! Zap! The Magnificent Makers chapter book series is filled with science, adventure, and characters kids will love! Every book includes two science activities kids can do at home!

A modern day Magic School Bus for the chapter book reader!

A wacky scientist, Dr....

Item No. 9780593123102
$5.99
Three Tales Of My Father's Dragon
Gannett, Ruth Stiles
The classic fantasy trilogy of Elmer Elevator and the flying baby dragon has
delighted children and their parents for generations. Now, on the occasion of
their fiftieth anniversary, Random House is proud to bring the three timeless
tales together in one beautiful commemorative...
Item No. 9780679889113
$18.99
Too Small Tola #2 Three Fine Girls
Atinuke
Too Small Tola is back--and as determined as ever--in a second trio of winning stories about a diminutive heroine with a big-big heart.

Acclaimed author and storyteller Atinuke reunites with illustrator Onyinye Iwu for a follow-up to their highly acclaimed first chapter...

Item No. 9781536225174
$15.99
Toys Go Out
Jenkins, Emily
"A bit like the great movie Toy Story and a bit like the wonderful Kate DiCamillo book The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. This is a great family book." --The Washington Post

Here is the first book in the highly acclaimed Toys trilogy, which includes the...

Item No. 9780385736619
$7.99
Unicorn & Yeti #6 Together
Burnell, Heather Ayris
Unicorn and Yeti are two magical friends who love using their imaginations!

Pick a Book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and...

Item No. 9781338627756
$4.99
Wednesday & Woof #1: Catastrophe
Winston, Sherri

Can Wednesday and her service dog, Woof, sniff out Mrs. Winter's missing cat before her big trip? This is the first book of a fun full-color early chapter book series about the best detectives in the Midwest!

Detective Tip #1 Try not to jump to conclusions....

Item No. 9780062975997
$5.99
When You Grow Up to Vote
Markel, Michelle

Eleanor Roosevelt's book on citizenship for young people now revised and updated for a contemporary audience.

In the voice of one of the most iconic and beloved political figures of the twentieth century comes a book on citizenship for the future voters of the twenty-first...

Item No. 9781626728790
$19.99
Who Would Win: Fiercest Feuds
Pallotta, Jerry
Ten fierce animals battle it out in this exciting bind-up featuring five books in this action-packed animal series!

Which dangerous animals would win in a fight? Find out in this awesome bind-up of five books in the popular Who Would Win? series. The collection features a range of...

Item No. 9781338841558
$10.99
Zoey & Sassafrass #1 Dragons and Marshmallows
Citro, Asia

A New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection
A Mighty Girl Book of the Year
Illinois Monarch Award Nominee 2018-2019
Florida SSYRA Book Award Nominee 2018-2019
Washington OTTER Award Nominee 2018-2019

With magical animals, science,...

Item No. 9781943147090
$6.99
Zoey & Sassafrass #2 Monsters and Mold
Citro, Asia

A Mighty Girl Book of the Year

With magical animals, science, mystery, and adventure -- the brand new series Zoey and Sassafras has something for everyone! Easy-to-read language and illustrations on nearly every page make this series perfect for a wide range of ages....

Item No. 9781943147144
$5.99