Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.

Please note: We are currently unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Beginner Chapter Book: Ages 6-8

Racing Ace #1 Drive it! Fix it!
Brimner, Larry Dane
Ace is ready to race her new car!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these...

Item No. 9781338553789
$4.99
Sarah, Plain & Tall (Paperback)
MacLachlan, Patricia

This beloved Newbery Medal-winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how...

Item No. 9780062399526
$7.99
Scaredy Squirrel Gets a Surprise
Watt, Melanie
The time is NOW for this anxious little guy: Scaredy Squirrel is back in this second book in a new graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Pizza and Taco.

In this second NUTTY ADVENTURE, Scaredy is in for a big surprise.... And Scaredy does NOT like...

Item No. 9780593307588
$12.99
Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell
Watt, Melanie
The time is now for this anxious little guy: Meet Scaredy Squirrel in his brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is filled with...

Item No. 9780593307557
$12.99
Scaredy Squirrel in a Nutshell PB
Watt, Melanie

The time is now for this anxious little guy: Meet Scaredy Squirrel in his brand-new graphic novel series! He's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever, and perfect for readers of Narwhal and Jelly.

Scaredy is happy to stay in his nut tree. Why would he ever leave? The outside is...

Item No. 9780593568453
$7.99
A Song for Harlem
McKissack, Patricia

A historical chapter book series from three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and Newbery Honor author, Patricia C. McKissack.

For Lilly Belle, ?the capital of Black America? is about as far from her hometown of Smyrna, Tennessee, as a twelve-year-old can get?maybe not in...

Item No. 9780142412381
$6.99
Scraps of Time: Away West
McKissack, Patricia
A historical chapter book series from three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner and Newbery Honor author, Patricia C. McKissack.

Unlike his older brothers, thirteen-year-old Everett was born in freedom, never knowing life as a slave. His most prized possession is the medal his father...

Item No. 9780142406885
$7.99
Sideways Stories from Wayside School
Sachar, Louis
There'd been a terrible mistake. Wayside School was supposed to be built with thirty classrooms all next to each other in a row. Instead, they built the classrooms one on top of the other...thirty stories tall! (The builder said he was very sorry.)
Item No. 9780380698714
$7.99
Tales from Deckawoo Drive (Book 3) Where Are You Going, Baby Lincoln
DiCamillo, Kate
"This Deckawoo Drive adventure is sure to inspire anyone taking his or her own tentative steps toward independence." -- Booklist (starred review)

Baby Lincoln's older sister, Eugenia, is very fond of telling Baby what to do, and Baby usually responds by saying "Yes, Sister." But...

Item No. 9780763697587
$5.99
Teaflet and Roog Make a Mess
Birdsall, Jeanne
A silly, illustrated adventure from the National Book Award-winning author of The Penderwicks--perfect for children newly reading on their own!

Teaflet and her brother, Roog, are ready to throw their annual strawberry jam party for their friends in Trefldom. They want it to be the...

Item No. 9780593179116
$16.99
The Amazing Life of Azaleah Lane
Smith, Nikki Shannon

Azaleah can't wait for her class field trip to the National Zoo in Washington D.C., especially when her teacher announces the chance to earn extra credit. But when Azaleah gets home, she quickly realizes extra credit isn't as easy as she thought. Azaleah's younger sister Tiana can't find Greenie...

Item No. 9781515844648
$14.95
Dragons Of Blueland
Gannett, Ruth Stiles
The third volume of the "My Father's Dragon" trilogy, this adventure
may be enjoyed on its own. Here, the baby dragon summons Elmer to help save his
family from hunters. "Elmer's plan is ingenious and plausible, the fantasy
well-sustained."--(starred) "Library Journal."
Item No. 9780394890500
$7.99
The Magnificent Makers: How to Test a Friendship
Griffith, Theanne
BOOM! SNAP! WHIZ! ZAP! The Magnificent Makers series is filled with science, adventure, and characters that readers will love! A modern-day Magic School Bus for chapter book readers!

This book includes two science activities kids can do at home! These quick educational activities (30...

Item No. 9780593122983
$5.99
The Magnificent Makers #2 Brain Trouble
Griffith, Theanne

BOOM! SNAP! WHIZ! ZAP!The Magnificent Makers series is filled with science, adventure, and characters that readers will love! A modern-day Magic School Bus for chapter book readers!

This book includes two science activities kids can do at home! These quick...

Item No. 9780593123010
$5.99
The Magnificent Makers #3 Riding the Sound Waves
Griffith, Theanne

Boom! Snap! Whiz! Zap! The Magnificent Makers chapter book series is filled with science, adventure, and characters kids will love! Every book includes two science activities kids can do at home!

A modern day Magic School Bus for the chapter book reader!

...
Item No. 9780593123102
$5.99
The Princess in Black #1 (Softcover) - Autographed

Autographed by illustrator LeUyen Pham

Princess Magnolia is having hot chocolate and scones with Duchess Wigtower when . . . Brring! Brring! The monster alarm! A big blue monster is threatening the goats! Stopping monsters is no job for dainty Princess Magnolia. But...

Item No. AUTOPHAM12
$6.99
Three Tales Of My Father's Dragon
Gannett, Ruth Stiles
The classic fantasy trilogy of Elmer Elevator and the flying baby dragon has
delighted children and their parents for generations. Now, on the occasion of
their fiftieth anniversary, Random House is proud to bring the three timeless
tales together in one beautiful commemorative...
Item No. 9780679889113
$16.95
Toys Go Out
Jenkins, Emily
"A bit like the great movie Toy Story and a bit like the wonderful Kate DiCamillo book The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. This is a great family book." --The Washington Post

Here is the first book in the highly acclaimed Toys trilogy, which includes the...

Item No. 9780385736619
$7.99
Unicorn & Yeti #4 Cheer Up
Burnell, Heather Ayris

Magical friends Unicorn and Yeti love to help each other!

Pick a Book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork...

Item No. 9781338627695
$4.99
Unicorn & Yeti #5 Fair and Square
Burnell, Heather Ayris
Magical friends Unicorn and Yeti learn what it means to play fair -- in fun and unexpected ways!

Pick a Book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format,...

Item No. 9781338627725
$4.99
When You Grow Up to Vote
Markel, Michelle

Eleanor Roosevelt's book on citizenship for young people now revised and updated for a contemporary audience.

In the voice of one of the most iconic and beloved political figures of the twentieth century comes a book on citizenship for the future voters of the twenty-first...

Item No. 9781626728790
$19.99
Yasmin in Charge
Faruqi, Saadia
In this collection of four stories, Yasmin takes charge of some sticky situations! At home, at school, or out and about, Yasmin faces challenges head on with creativity and quick thinking. Whether she's creating a new recipe, finding a way to rescue a stuck toy for a little friend, or calming down...
Item No. 9781515842729
$5.95
Yasmin the Writer
Faruqi, Saadia
Ms. Alex has assigned Yasmin's class to write about their heroes. Yasmin loves to write, but she can't decide who her hero is. After dismissing lots of ideas, could it be that Yasmin's hero has been right beside her all along?
Item No. 9781515858874
$5.95
Zoey & Sassafrass #1 Dragons and Marshmallows
Citro, Asia

A New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2017 Selection
A Mighty Girl Book of the Year
Illinois Monarch Award Nominee 2018-2019
Florida SSYRA Book Award Nominee 2018-2019
Washington OTTER Award Nominee 2018-2019

With magical animals, science,...

Item No. 9781943147090
$5.99
Zoey & Sassafrass #2 Monsters and Mold
Citro, Asia

A Mighty Girl Book of the Year

With magical animals, science, mystery, and adventure -- the brand new series Zoey and Sassafras has something for everyone! Easy-to-read language and illustrations on nearly every page make this series perfect for a wide range of ages....

Item No. 9781943147144
$5.99