Please note: We are temporarily unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations at this time.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Chapter Books: Ages 6-12

The Willoughbys - Softcover
Lowry, Lois
Now a Netflix animated film starring Will Forte, Maya Rudolph, Alessia Cara, Terry Crews, Martin Short, Jane Krakowski, Séan Cullen, and Ricky Gervais!

From the Newbery Medal-winning author of The Giver and Number the Stars, comes a hilarious (Booklist, starred review)...

Item No. 9780385737760
$6.99
The Wind in the Willows
Grahame, Kenneth
One of the best-loved children's books of all time is updated for a new generation in a beautifully designed gift edition liberally illustrated by David Roberts.

The story begins when Mole abandons his spring cleaning to explore the world beyond his burrow. He scurries down to the...

Item No. 9780763665265
$24.99
The Wind in the Willows
Grahame, Kenneth
A good choice for middle-grade readers, or for parents in search of a pleasing edition to read aloud. --Booklist

Kenneth Grahame's classic tale of the pleasures of country life and the dependability of good friends will never grow old. In this splendid volume...
Item No. 9780763642112
$14.99
The Witches
Dahl, Roald

From the World's No. 1 Storyteller, The Witches is a children's classic that has captured young reader's imaginations for generations.

Now a major motion picture!

This is not a fairy tale. This is about real witches. Grandmamma loves to tell about witches...

Item No. 9781101996997
$7.99
The Wizard of Oz
L. Frank Baum

The Wizard of Oz is a beloved American classic.  This edition, with fine illustrations from internationally acclaimed artist Lizbeth Zwerger, has been reformatted as a readaloud edition.

Item No. 9780735840423
$22.95
Wollstonecraft Det. Agency #1
Stratford, Jordan

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!

Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world's first computer programmer)...

Item No. 9780385754439
$7.99
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Baum, L Frank

Journey to the spectacular land of Oz with The Wonderful Wizard of Oz! This classic tale from L. Frank Baum has enchanted readers for over a century. Now, in this stunning hundredth anniversary edition featuring the original illustrations by W.W. Denslow, new readers will learn the...

Item No. 9780060293239
$29.99
The Wonderling
Bartók, Mira
In this extraordinary debut novel with its deft nod to Dickensian heroes and rogues, Mira Bartók tells the story of Arthur, a shy, fox-like foundling with only one ear and a desperate desire to belong, as he seeks his destiny.

Have you been unexpectedly burdened by a recently orphaned...

Item No. 9780763691219
$21.99
The Year of the Dog - Autographed
Lin, Grace

Autographed for you by Grace Lin! Please leave any personalization requests in Customer Notes at checkout.

A special edition of a modern classic by the Newbery-Award winning and bestselling author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

When Pacy's mom tells her that this is a good year for friends, family, and finding herself, Pacy begins searching right away. As the year...
Item No. 9780316060028
$7.99
The Year of the Rat - Autographed
Lin, Grace

Autographed for you by Grace Lin! Please leave any personalization requests in Customer Notes at checkout.

A fresh new look for this modern classic by the Newbery-Award winning and bestselling author of Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
In this sequel to Year of the Dog, Pacy has another big year in store for her. The Year of the Dog was a very lucky year: she met her best...
Item No. 9780316531344
$7.99
This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality
Levy, Debbie

Recipient of a Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor
Winner of the 2019 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Nonfiction
2020 National Council for the Social Studies Carter G. Woodson Honor Recipient
A NYPL Top Ten of 2019

A Kirkus...

Item No. 9781681198521
$17.99
Three Times Lucky PB
Turnage, Sheila

A Newbery Honor Book

An irresistible Southern narrator--a literary descendant of Scout Finch of To Kill a Mockingbird. --Newsday

Rising sixth grader Miss Moses LoBeau lives in the small town of Tupelo Landing, NC, where everyone's...

Item No. 9780142426050
$7.99
Timmy Failure PB
Pastis, Stephan

"An endearingly pathetic antihero with delusions of greatness. . . . Seldom has failure been so likable -- or so funny." -- The Wall Street Journal

Take Timmy Failure--the clueless, comically self-confident CEO of the best detective agency in town,...

Item No. 9780763669270
$7.99
Too Bright to See
Lukoff, Kyle
A haunting ghost story about navigating grief, growing up, and growing into a new gender identity

A gentle, glowing wonder, full of love and understanding. -The New York Times Book Review

It's the summer before middle school and eleven-year-old Bug's best friend...

Item No. 9780593111154
$16.99
Too Small Tola
Atinuke

Three delightful tales from a renowned Nigerian storyteller introduce a chapter-book heroine who is every bit as mighty as she is small.

In a trio of droll stories, award-winning author and storyteller Atinuke debuts an endearing and enduring character with plenty to prove....

Item No. 9781536211276
$15.99
Tristan Strong Destroys the World (Tristan Strong #2)
Mbalia, Kwame

Don't miss Book 1 in this series!

Bestselling author Rick Riordan presents the second book in the New York Times best-selling and award-winning Tristan Strong trilogy by Kwame Mbalia.
Mbalia's universe continues to excite through sheer conceptual brilliance, nonstop action and adventure, and--let's be honest--the...
Item No. 9781368042383
$17.99
Tristan Strong Puches a Hole in the Sky (#1)
Mbalia, Kwame
Winner of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents Kwame Mbalia's epic fantasy, a middle grade American Gods set in a richly-imagined world populated with African American folk heroes and West African gods.
Seventh grader Tristan...
Item No. 9781368042413
$8.99
Trouble in Bugland
Kotzwinkle, William

A collection of five detective stories for young readers, inspired by Sherlock Holmes and with an all-insect cast of characters. "Excitement and humor!"--New York Times Book Review

Inspector Mantis, accompanied by his trusted colleague Doctor Hopper, go forth from their little...

Item No. 9781567920703
$14.95
Un Lun Dun (Paperback)
Miéville, China
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - "Endlessly inventive . . . [a] hybrid of Alice in Wonderland, The Wizard of Oz, and The Phantom Tollbooth."--Salon

What is Un Lun Dun?

It is London through the looking glass, an urban Wonderland of strange...

Item No. 9780345458445
$14.00
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy
Acho, Emmanuel

 Staff Pick

Adapted from Emmanuel Acho's New York Times bestseller Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man, comes an essential young readers edition aimed at opening a dialogue about systemic racism with our youngest generation.

Young people have the power to affect sweeping...

Item No. 9781250801067
$17.99
Colin Meloy and Carson Ellis

Under Wildwood is the second book in the New York Times bestselling adventure series the Wildwood Chronicles from Colin Meloy, lead singer of the Decemberists, and Carson Ellis, the acclaimed illustrator of The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Ever since Prue McKeel...

Item No. 9780062024732
$9.99
Unidentified Suburban Object (Softcover)
Jung, Mike
Comic and satirical, but also full of painful truths about being both a bright, sensitive middle schooler, and a so-called model-minority in a decidedly NOT-diverse town

The next person who compares Chloe Cho with famous violinist Abigail Yang is going to HEAR it. Chloe has just about had it...
Item No. 9780545782272
$6.99
Unsettled
Faruqi, Reem

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-...

Item No. 9780063044708
$16.99
Ways to Grow Love
Watson, Renée

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson continues her charming young middle grade series starring Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit and sunshine.

Ryan Hart loves her family and friends. She's looking forward to summer vacation, spending time with loved...

Item No. 9781547600588
$16.99
Ways to Make Sunshine (Softcover)
Watson, Renée

From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson comes the first book in a young middle grade series about Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit, kindness, and sunshine.

Ryan Hart has a lot on her mind--school, self-image, and especially family. Her...

Item No. 9781547606658
$7.99