Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.

Please note: We are currently unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Chapter Books: Ages 6-12

Fantastic Mr. Fox
Dahl, Roald

Nobody outfoxes Fantastic Mr. Fox!

Someone's been stealing from the three meanest farmers around, and they know the identity of the thief--it's Fantastic Mr. Fox! Working alone they could never catch him; but now fat Boggis, squat Bunce, and skinny Bean have joined forces, and they...

Item No. 9780142410349
$7.99
Fast Pitch
Stone, Nic
From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nic Stone comes a challenging and heartwarming coming-of-age story about a softball player looking to prove herself on and off the field.

Shenice Lockwood, captain of the Fulton Firebirds, is hyper-focused when she steps up...

Item No. 9781984893017
$17.99
Finding Langston
Cline-Ransome, Lesa
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

When eleven-year-old Langston's father moves them from their home in Alabama to Chicago's Bronzeville district, it feels like he's giving up everything he loves.

...
Item No. 9780823439607
$16.99
Finding Langston PB
Cline-Ransome, Lesa
A Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

When eleven-year-old Langston's father moves them from their home in Alabama to Chicago's Bronzeville district, it feels like he's giving up everything he loves.

...
Item No. 9780823445820
$7.99
Finding Wonders: Three Girls Who Changed Science (Softcover)
Atkins, Jeannine
This "evocative and beautiful" (School Library Journal) novel "vividly imagines the lives of three girls" (Booklist, starred review) in three different time periods as they grow up to become groundbreaking scientists.

Maria Merian was sure that caterpillars were not wicked...

Item No. 9781481465663
$7.99
Firefly Letters
Engle, Margarita

The freedom to roam is something that women and girls in Cuba do not have. Yet when Fredrika Bremer visits from Sweden in 1851 to learn about the people of this magical island, she is accompanied by Cecilia, a young slave who longs for her lost home in Africa. Soon Elena, the wealthy daughter of...

Item No. 9780805090826
$17.99
Firefly Letters
Engle, Margarita

A powerful novel in verse about an early women's rights pioneer and the journey to Cuba that transformed her life.

When Fredrika Bremer asked the Swedish Consulate to find her a quiet home in the Cuban countryside, she expected a rustic thatched hut, not this luxurious mansion...

Item No. 9781250110961
$10.99
First Cat in Space Ate Pizza
Barnett, Mac

New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively popular The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza live cartoon into an action-packed and hysterical graphic novel series--perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey, Raina...

Item No. 9780063084087
$15.99
First Rule of Punk PB
Pérez, Celia C

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book

The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one's watching.

There are no shortcuts to surviving your first...

Item No. 9780425290422
$8.99
Flying Lessons & Other Stories

Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, first crushes, or new neighborhoods, this bold short story collection--written by some of the best children's authors including Kwame Alexander, Meg Medina, Jacqueline Woodson, and many more and published in partnership with We Need Diverse...

Item No. 9781101934623
$7.99
For Black Girls Like Me
Lockington, Mariama J

In this lyrical coming-of-age story about family, sisterhood, music, race, and identity, Mariama J. Lockington draws on some of the emotional truths from her own experiences growing up with an adoptive white family.

I am a girl but most days I feel like a question mark.

...

Item No. 9781250250322
$7.99
Fortunately the Milk - Softcover
Gaiman, Neil

An absolute delight of a madcap story for the young (and young-at-heart) by New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman, with equal parts pirates and piranhas, adventure and aliens, oddity and love.

I bought the milk, said my father. I walked out of the corner...

Item No. 9780062224088
$6.99
Fourteenth Goldfish (Paperback)
Holm, Jennifer L
Believe in the possible . . . with this New York Times bestseller by three-time Newbery Honor winner Jennifer L. Holm. A perfect read about a child's relationship with her grandfather!

Galileo. Newton. Salk. Oppenheimer. Science can change the world . . . but can...
Item No. 9780375871146
$7.99
Freddy the Detective
Brooks, Walter R
The delightful detective story about the beloved animal characters on Mr. Bean's farm, whose adventures have entertained so many children. Freddy the pig, stimulated by reading Sherlock Holmes, sets up in a business as a detective.
Item No. 9781590204184
$11.99
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
Marks, Janae

#1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Edgar Award Nominee * Four Starred Reviews...

Item No. 9780062875860
$7.99
From the Mixed-Up Files
Konigsburg, E L

Claudia knew that she could never pull off the old-fashioned kind of running away... so she decided not to run FROM somewhere, but TO somewhere. And so, after some careful planning, she and her younger brother, Jamie, escaped-- right into a mystery that made headlines!

Item No. 9780689711817
$8.99
Front Desk
Yang, Kelly
Four starred reviews and over ten best-of-year lists!* Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* Many readers will recognize themselves or their...
Item No. 9781338157826
$7.99
Game of Fox & Squirrels
Reese, Jenn

A 2021 Oregon Book Award Winner
An NPR Best Book of 2020
A Finalist for the 2021-22 Maine Student Book Award

Andre Norton Award finalist Jenn Reese explores the often thin line between magic and reality, light and darkness in her enchanting middle grade standalone.

...

Item No. 9781250762887
$7.99
Genesis Begins Again
Williams, Alicia D
"Reminiscent of Toni Morrison's The Bluest Eye." --The New York Times

"One of the best books I have ever read...will live in the hearts of readers for the rest of their lives." --Colby Sharp, founder of Nerdy Book Club

"An emotional, painful, yet still hopeful...

Item No. 9781481465816
$8.99
George
Gino, Alex

Free autographed bookplate with purchase.

The unforgettable debut from Stonewall Award Winner Alex Gino.

George joins the Scholastic Gold line, which features award-winning and beloved novels. Includes exclusive bonus content!

When people look at Melissa, they think they see a boy named George. But she knows she's not...

Item No. 9780545812573
$7.99
George's Marvelous Medicine
Dahl, Roald
A taste of her own medicine.

George is alone in the house with Grandma. The most horrid, grizzly old grunion of a grandma ever. She needs something stronger than her usual medicine to cure her grouchiness. A special grandma medicine, a remedy for everything. And George knows just what to...

Item No. 9780142410356
$7.99
Get a Grip, Vivy Cohen
Kapit, Sarah

In this perfectly pitched novel-in-letters, autistic eleven-year-old Vivy Cohen won't let anything stop her from playing baseball--not when she has a major-league star as her pen pal.

Vivy Cohen is determined. She's had enough of playing catch in the park. She's ready to...

Item No. 9780525554196
$8.99
Ghost
Reynolds, Jason
A National Book Award Finalist for Young People's Literature.
Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read.

Ghost wants to be the fastest sprinter on his elite middle school track team, but his past is slowing him down in this first...

Item No. 9781481450164
$7.99
Ghost Squad
Ortega, Claribel A

Coco meets Stranger Things with a hint of Ghostbusters in this action-packed supernatural fantasy.

For Lucely Luna, ghosts are more than just the family business.

Shortly before Halloween, Lucely and her best friend, Syd, cast a spell that...

Item No. 9781338280128
$17.99
Goodbye Stranger
Rebecca Stead

This brilliant novel by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship.
   Bridge is an accident survivor who’s wondering why she’s still alive. Emily has new curves and an almost-boyfriend who wants a certain kind of...

Item No. 9780385743174
$16.99