X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Dear Reader: Picture Books and Letter Writing

Dear Mr Dickens
Churnin, Nancy

2021 National Jewish Book Award Winner - Children's Picture Book
2022 Sydney Taylor Book Award Honor for Picture Books
Chicago Public Library Best Informational Books for Younger Readers 2021
The Best Jewish Children's...

Item No. 9780807515303
$17.99
A Letter to Amy - Softcover
Keats, Ezra Jack

Peter's having a birthday party and he's inviting all of his friends. But only one friend - a girl - is getting a letter in the mail. "This way it's sort of special." A windy rainstorm changes Peter's plans, and now he doesn't know if Amy will ever come to the party!

Generations of children have read, re-read, and loved Ezra Jack Keats's award-winning, classic stories about Peter and his neighborhood friends. Now, for the first time, "Peter's Chair", "A Letter to Amy", and "Goggles!" are available in paperback exclusively from Puffin. "A master of ingenious...
Item No. 9780140564426
$8.99
A Letter to My Teacher
Hopkinson, Deborah
This funny, touching picture book celebrates the difference a good teacher can make. Written as a thank-you note to a special teacher from the student who never forgot her, this moving story makes a great classroom read-aloud, and a perfect back-to-school gift for students and teachers!...
Item No. 9780375868450
$17.99
As Fast As Words Could Fly PB
Tuck, Pamela M

The story of Mason Steele, an African American boy in 1960s Greenville, North Carolina, who relies on his inner strength and his typing skills to break racial barriers after he begins attending a "whites-only" high school.

Now in paperback!

Young Mason Steele takes pride in...

Item No. 9781620148594
$11.95
Click, Clack, Moo (Ready-to-Read Edition)
Cronin, Doreen
Now the inspiration for a new Christmas special, CLICK, CLACK, MOO: Christmas on the Farm.

New York Times bestselling duo Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin's Caldecott Honor-winning book is now available as a Level 2 Ready-to-Read!

Farmer Brown has a problem....

Item No. 9781481465403
$4.99
Click, Clack, Moo - Board Book
Cronin, Doreen
The quirky, hilarious farmyard tale that started it all from New York Times bestselling duo of Doreen Cronin and Betsy Lewin! Now the inspiration for a new Christmas special, CLICK, CLACK, MOO: Christmas on the Farm.

Farmer Brown has a problem. His cows like to type. All...

Item No. 9781442408890
$8.99
Dear Abuelo
Huesca Dominguez, Grecia
There is much Juana is going to miss as she moves from Mexico to New York, but nothing more than her abuelo. Through letters to her grandfather, Juana details her flight, he new apartment, and her firt days of school where everyone speaks a language she barely understands. When Juana makes her firt...
Item No. 9781478868897
$6.95
Dear Juno
Pak, Soyung
Juno's grandmother writes in Korean and Juno writes in drawings, but that doesn't mean they can't exchange letters. From the photo his grandmother sends him, Juno can tell that she has a new cat. From the picture he makes for her, Juno's grandmother can tell that he wants her to come for a visit....
Item No. 9780142300176
$8.99
Dear Primo
Tonatiuh, Duncan
Two cousins--one in the United States and one in Mexico--learn their lives aren't so different in Dear Primo, a charming picture book from award-winning author and illustrator Duncan Tonatiuh.

A Pura Belpré Illustrator Honor Book!

"Reinforces the sense that kids...

Item No. 9780810938724
$18.99
Dear Reader: A Love Letter to Libraries
Rose, Tiffany
A young Black girl pens a love letter to libraries and books, powerfully expressing the need to see herself represented in stories. From the author that brought you M Is for Melanin.

"A rousing call to action for more racially diverse children's literature." -Kirkus...

Item No. 9781499812251
$17.99
Sticker-Delivering Happiness

Send it with stickers!

PipStickers are the PERFECT gift for the sticker lover in your life - even if it's you! These unique PVC designs with holographic silver ...

Item No. AS003225
$2.95
Eggasaurus
Wagh, Jennifer
In this funny and winsome epistolary picture book, a young boy who orders a dinosaur egg ends up with more than he--or his dad--bargained for!

All Maximus wants is a pet dinosaur--is that really too much to ask? But when his dad tells him he must send the egg back to where it came from,...

Item No. 9781534450066
$17.99
Exquisite: The Poetry & Life of Gwendolyn Brooks
Slade, Suzanne

2021 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

2021 Siebert Honor Book

A picture-book biography of celebrated poet Gwendolyn Brooks, the first Black person to win the Pulitzer Prize

A 2021 Coretta Scott King Book Award Illustrator Honor Book
A 2021 Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book

A 2021 Association of Library...

Item No. 9781419734113
$18.99
Hold Them Close: A Love Letter to Black Children
Thompkins-Bigelow, Jamilah

When happy things come to you, hold them close and never let go.

From celebrated author of Your Name Is a Song Jamilah Thompkins-Bigelow, fine artist Patrick Dougher, and photographer Jamel Shabazz, Hold Them Close is a picture book celebration...

Item No. 9780063036178
$18.99
I Wrote You a Note
Boyd, Lizi
In this deceptively simple storybook from award-winning author-illustrator Lizi Boyd, readers will delight in following a note's unexpected journey and encountering a cast of charming characters along the way. The spare text is filled with the kind of repetition and rhythm that make for a...
Item No. 9781452159577
$16.99
If You Come to Earth - Autographed
Sophie Blackall

From two-time Caldecott Winner author-illustrator Sophie Blackall!

If You Come to Earth is a glorious guide to our home planet, and a call for us to take care of both Earth and each other.

This beautiful book is inspired by the thousands of children Sophie Blackall has met...

Item No. AUTOBLACK36
$18.99
It Came in the Mail
Clanton, Ben
From the author-illustrator of Something Extraordinary comes a tale filled with dragons, pickles, friendship, and lots of mail--perfect for fans of Mo Williams and Bob Shea.

Liam really wants some mail, so he writes a letter to his mailbox asking for something in return....

Item No. 9781534453210
$8.99
Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me
Beaty, Daniel
Winner of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Medal and the Boston Horn Book Award

A simple, powerful book for children, about an absent father and the love he leaves behind


Every morning, I play a game with my father.He goes knock knock on my door...

Item No. 9780316209175
$18.99
Letters to a Prisoner
Goldstyn, Jacques
Told entirely through illustrations, Letters to a Prisoner is a wordless story about the power of hope and the written word. Inspired by Amnesty International's letter-writing campaigns to help free people who have been jailed for expressing their opinion, the book tells the story of a man...
Item No. 9781771472517
$18.95
Nigel and the Moon
Eady, Antwan

From debut author Antwan Eady and artist Gracey Zhang comes a glowing tale about the young dreaming big. A perfect story to demonstrate how pride in where we come from can bring a shining confidence.

When Nigel looks up at the moon, his future is bright. He imagines...

Item No. 9780063056282
$18.99
Out on a Limb
Morris, Jordan
This picture book about a child with a broken leg explores the role of courage and patience in the healing process--both inside and out

Lulu's leg is broken, but she's OK. Bonnie Bear has a matching yellow cast. Her sympathy trove has new books, sweet cards, and pretty daisies. She...

Item No. 9781419753657
$18.99
Rise Up and Write It - Autographed
Ahuja, Nandini

Rise Up and Write It combines a celebration of civic engagement with the hands-on fun of real pull-out examples of activism tools and is sure to encourage young readers to want to get up and get involved.

The book comes complete with a pull-out letter to the...

Item No. 9780063029590
$16.99
Snail Mail
Berger, Samantha
A long, long time ago, before email and texting, the mail was delivered in a much slower way-it was called Snail Mail (because some thought it was delivered by a snail). Although it took much longer, everyone agreed that letters were a little more special when they were delivered by Snail Mail....
Item No. 9780762462513
$17.99
The Day the Crayons Quit
Daywalt, Drew
The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had...
Item No. 9780399255373
$17.99
The Jolly Postman
Ahlberg, Allan


This nostalgic classic, including real letters, is a must-have for every child!

This gorgeously illustrated, full-color classic celebrates a time before email by depicting amusing correspondence between fairy tale and Mother Goose characters. What could possibly be in a letter from...

Item No. 9780316126441
$19.99