Please note: We are temporarily unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations at this time.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Graphic Novels & Comics

Thrash, Maggie

"Thrash has so carefully and skillfully captured a universal moment. . . . A luminescent memoir not to be missed."-- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

All-girl camp. First love. First heartbreak. At once romantic and devastating, brutally honest and full of humor, this...

Item No. 9780763687557
$14.99
I Am Alfonso Jones
Medina, Tony

The Latinidad List of Best Books of 2017; Best Books for Teens; In the Margins Top Ten List; Starred Review; Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens; Ten Best Graphic Novels of 2017; Choices; Skipping Stones Honor Award; Best Books for Kids; Black-Eyed Susan Book Award Nominee

The Hate...

Item No. 9781620142639
$18.95
product image
Walden, Tillie
Two girls in a small town in the USA kill time together as they try to get through their days at school. They watch videos, share earbuds as they play each other songs and exchange their stories. In the process they form a deep connection and an unexpected relationship begins to develop. In her...
Item No. 9781910395325
$16.99
Ichiro
Inzana, Ryan
Exploring themes of grief, masculinity, and belonging, Ryan Inzana's award-winning work is perfect for fans of Hey, Kiddo, American Born Chinese, and Tilly Walden.

Eisner Nominee - Asian/Pacific American Young Adult Literature Honor

Raised by his Japanese mother, Ichiro...

Item No. 9780358238409
$16.99
Island Book
Dahm, Evan

Staff Pick

Set sail with Island Book, Evan Dahm's epic graphic novel about friendship, teamwork, and the wisdom we gain when we face the unknown with bravery and an open heart.

Sola is cursed. (At least, that's what everyone tells her.) It all started the day the Monster came to the...

Item No. 9781626729506
$22.99
Jane, the Fox and Me
Britt, Fanny

A graphic novel about bullying, body image and the transformative power of fiction.

Hélène has been inexplicably ostracized by the girls who were once her friends. Her school life is full of whispers and lies -- Hélène weighs 216; she smells like BO. Her loving...

Item No. 9781554983605
$19.95
Jo: An Adaption of Little Women (Sort Of)
Gros, Kathleen

A modern-day graphic novel adaptation of Little Women that explores identity, friendships, and new experiences through the eyes of thirteen-year-old Jo March. A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

With the start of eighth grade, Jo March decides it's time to...

Item No. 9780062875969
$12.99
Jukebox
Chanani, Nidhi

Staff Pick

Grab some coins for the jukebox, and get ready for a colorful, time-traveling, musical tale about family and courage.
A mysterious jukebox, old vinyl records, and cryptic notes on music history, are Shaheen's only clues to her father's abrupt disappearance. She looks to her cousin,...

Item No. 9781250156372
$14.99
Kai and the Monkey King (Softcover)
Todd-Stanton, Joe

When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being adventurous enough for a Brownstone, she decides to seek out the mischievous and rebellious Monkey King - who she's always been told to stay away from. Will he bring her the adventure she craves, or will he cause her more trouble than he's...

Item No. 9781912497522
$12.99
Katie tthe Catsitter
Af Venable, Colleen
Calling all Raina Telgemeier fans! Introducing an irresistible new middle-grade graphic novel series about growing up, friendship, heroes, and cats (lots of cats!)--perfect for fans of Guts, Awkward and Real Friends (not to mention anyone who loves cats!)

...

Item No. 9781984895639
$12.99
Knife's Edge
Larson, Hope

A standalone, adventure-packed companion to the New York Times-bestselling middle grade graphic novel Compass South

Twelve-year-old twin adventurers Cleopatra and Alexandra Dodge are reunited with their father and realize that two family heirlooms reveal the...

Item No. 9781250158468
$12.99
Kodi
Cullum, Jared
The gorgeous story of two friends separated by everything in the world -- except love. Readers and animal-lovers of every age will want to relive this journey over and over again.

Katya and her Meema are spending another summer at their cottage in Alaska, when a chance accident leaves...

Item No. 9781603094672
$14.99
product image
Tamaki, Mariko

One of FORBES Best Graphic Novels of 2019
On BCCB 2019 Blue Ribbons List
One of NPR's Best Books of 2019
Booklist 2019 Editors' Choice
One of Bitch Media's Best Queer YA Novels of 2019

Author Mariko Tamaki and illustrator...

Item No. 9781626722590
$17.99
Legends of Zita the Spacegirl
Hatke, Ben

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Ben Hatke brings back our intrepid space heroine for another delightful sci-fi/fantasy adventure. Zita is determined to find her way home to earth, following the events of the first book. But things are never simple, and certainly never easy, in space.

Zita's...

Item No. 9781596434479
$12.99
Lightfall
Probert, Tim

Eliza (The Carle Bookshop) says: This graphic novel is gorgeously illustrated with big world-building and truly loveable characters. Really thoughtful depictions of anxiety and friendship,...

New York Times bestselling author Kazu Kibuishi says of Lightfall: "Beautifully drawn. Tim Probert has created a world readers will want to visit."

For fans of Amulet and middle grade readers who love sweeping worlds like Star Wars, the first...

Item No. 9780062990464
$12.99
Little Robot
Hatke, Ben

When a little girl finds an adorable robot in the woods, she presses a button and accidentally activates him for the first time. Now, she finally has a friend. But the big, bad robots are coming to collect the little guy for nefarious purposes, and it's all up to a five-year-old armed only with...

Item No. 9781626720800
$17.99
Long Way Down Graphic Novel
Reynolds, Jason
Jason Reynolds's Newbery Honor, Printz Honor, and Coretta Scott King Honor-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling novel Long Way Down is now a gripping, galvanizing graphic novel, with haunting artwork by Danica Novgorodoff.

Will's older brother, Shawn, has been shot....

Item No. 9781534444959
$19.99
Lowriders (Book 1) in Space (Hardcover)
Camper, Cathy
Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria love working with cars. You name it, they can fix it. But the team's favorite cars of all are lowriders--cars that hip and hop, dip and drop, go low and slow, bajito y suavecito. The stars align when a contest for the best car around...
Item No. 9781452121550
$22.99
Lowriders (Book 1) in Space (Paperback)
Camper, Cathy

Lupe Impala, El Chavo Flapjack, and Elirio Malaria love working with cars. You name it, they can fix it. But the team's favorite cars of all are lowriders--cars that hip and hop, dip and drop, go low and slow, bajito y suavecito. The stars align when a contest for the best car around...

Item No. 9781452128696
$9.99
Lowriders (Book 2) Center of the Earth (Hardcover)
Camper, Cathy
2017 Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Winner

The lovable trio from the acclaimed Lowriders in Space are back! Lupe Impala, Elirio Malaria, and El Chavo Octopus are living their dream at last. They're the proud owners of their very own garage. But when their beloved cat Genie goes missing...

Item No. 9781452123431
$22.99
Lowriders (Book 2) Center of the Earth (Paperback)
Camper, Cathy

2017 Pura Belpré Illustrator Award Winner

The lovable trio from the acclaimed Lowriders in Space are back! Lupe Impala, Elirio Malaria, and El Chavo Octopus are living their dream at last. They're the proud owners of their very own garage. But when their beloved cat Genie...

Item No. 9781452138367
$9.99
Lowriders (Book 3) Blast from the Past (Hardcover)
Camper, Cathy

When new friends Lupe, Flapjack, and Elirio are each bullied by Las Matamoscas, they know they're going to like one another. When they find out they all love lowrider cars, they know they'll be friends for life. But the bullies won't leave the Lowriders alone--and they don't let any girls or...

Item No. 9781452163154
$22.99
Lowriders (Book 3) Blast from the Past (Paperback)
Camper, Cathy

When new friends Lupe, Flapjack, and Elirio are each bullied by Las Matamoscas, they know they're going to like one another. When they find out they all love lowrider cars, they know they'll be friends for life. But the bullies won't leave the Lowriders alone--and they don't let any girls or...

Item No. 9781452163161
$9.99
Lumberjanes #1
Ellis, Grace
Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp...defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons...what's not to love?!

Friendship to the max! Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together...and they're not gonna let any...

Item No. 9781608866878
$14.99
Lumberjanes #2: Friendship to the Max
Ellis, Grace
What a mystery!

Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are not your average campers, and Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Hardcore Lady-Types is not your average summer camp. Between the river monsters, magic, and the art of friendship bracelets, this summer is only...

Item No. 9781608867370
$14.99