X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Picture Books: Ages 2-7

Sukey and the Mermaid
Robert D. San Souci and Brian Pinkney

Sukey's new step-pa is a mean, bossy man. Every day Sukey wakes at dawn to work in the garden. All her step-pa ever does is watch her and yell if she so much as stops to fan herself. Sukey's ma calls him Mister Jones. Sukey prefers the name "Mister Hard-Times".

One day, Sukey runs away to...

Item No. 9780689807183
$8.99
Wren's Nest - Autographed
Stemple, Heidi EY


Wren's Nest is an intergenerational picture book about love, birds, and new life from author Heidi Stemple and illustrator Eugenia Nobati.

When Wren was born, Grandpa put a wren box just outside the window of her tiny room. When she was a baby, the wrens sang...

Item No. 9781641707527
$17.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Adrift - Autographed
Stemple, Heidi EY


A timely and relevant picture book about the power of community

"This moving story, with wondrous art, feels like childhood itself. The journey of eagerness, discovery, joy, and fear--with comfort at the end." --Patricia MacLachlan, Newbery Medal-winning author of Sarah...

Item No. 9781623719098
$17.95
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
I Am the Storm - Autographed
Stemple, Heidi EY

To Be Personalized by Heidi E.Y. Stemple

A tornado, a blizzard, a forest fire, and a hurricane are met, in turn, with resilience and awe in this depiction of nature's power and our own.

In the face of our shifting climate, young children everywhere are finding themselves subject to unfamiliar and often frightening...

Item No. 9780593222751
$18.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Small Things Mended - To Be Autographed 4/17
Robinson, Casey W

The healing power of community is tenderly expressed in this picture book for fans of A Sick Day for Amos McGhee and Last Stop on Market Street.

Kindly Cecil has a broken heart, but when the kids in his neighborhood start asking him to fix their valuables--a...

Item No. 9780593529812
$18.99
Iver & Ellsworth (Hardcover)
Robinson, Casey W

From a factory rooftop, Iver and his good friend Ellsworth (a rooftop bear) are content to watch the busy world below. "Everyone's going somewhere," Iver says. "We can see the whole world from up here. That's enough somewhere for me." But after Iver retires, the friends must venture out in...

Item No. 9780999024911
$18.99
Don't Wash Winston - To Be Autographed 4/17
Belote, Ashley

We've all been there... A bit of a spill, an overenthusiastic leap, one mud pie too many, and OH NO! our beloved stuffed animal friend suddenly has to be (gulp) WASHED!

When Winston, Liam's favorite teddy bear, gets muddy, Dad decides that Winston needs to be washed. But the...

Item No. 9781250883056
$18.99
Frankenslime
Joy Keller and Ashley Belote

A young slime scientist is surprised when her latest creation comes to life in Frankenslime, a funny and clever picture book twist on Frankenstein.

Victoria Franken is a slime scientist.

Her experiments lead to amazingslimes. Until, one dark...

Item No. 9781250765802
$18.99
Listen Up, Louella
Belote, Ashley

An overly excited elephant learns to listen with a little help from her new friends in Listen Up, Louella, an adorably humorous new picture book from Ashley Belote, the illustrator of Frankenslime.

Louella is VERY excited to be at Roar Scout Camp. There's so...

Item No. 9781250812797
$18.99
Witch and Wombat
Belote, Ashley

Every witch will want a wombat after reading this humorous picture book perfect for little readers who want a new pet!

Wilma, a young witch, cannot wait to get her very first cat! But when the pet store is fresh out of kittens, Wilma brings home. . . a wombat?! What a CAT-...

Item No. 9780593569634
$18.99
A Place Inside of Me
Elliott, Zetta

2021 Caldecott Honor Book

Caldecott Honor Book
Today Show Best Book for the Holidays
ALA Notable Book for All Ages

ALSC Notable Children's Book
NCTE Notable Poetry Book

Evanston Public Library's Top 100 Great Book for Kids
Nerdy Award Winner for Single Poem Picture...

Item No. 9780374307417
$17.99
All Because You Matter (with Autographed Bookplate)
Charles, Tami

Receive an exclusive signed bookplate autographed by author Tami Charles and illustrator Bryan Collier free with purchase.

Instant New York Times bestseller!

A lyrical, heart-lifting love letter to Black and brown children everywhere: reminding them how much they matter, that they have always mattered, and they always will, from powerhouse rising star author Tami Charles and esteemed, award-...

Item No. 9781338574852
$17.99
Animal Albums from A to Z - To Be Autographed 4/28
Bell, Cece

From the inimitable creator of El Deafo, this all-ages alphabet book is also a hand-wrought, high-fidelity, hilariously tongue-in-cheek homage to the golden days of album cover art.

Cece Bell loves music and collecting old record albums, her introduction explains,...

Item No. 9781536226249
$19.99
Big (with Autographed Print)
Harrison, Vashti

2024 Randolph Caldecott Award Winner

Winner of the Caldecott Medal! A Coretta Scott King Award Author and Illustrator Honor book, a National Book Award finalist, and a New York Times bestseller! This deeply moving story shares valuable lessons about fitting in, standing out, and the beauty of joyful acceptance, from...
Item No. 9780316353229
$19.99
Light for All (with Autographed Bookplate)
Engle, Margarita
A lyrical and unifying picture book that "will inspire young readers" and "magnificently showcases the immigrant experience" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) in America from Newbery Honoree Margarita Engle and award-winning illustrator Raúl Colón.

Discover the myriad contributions...

Item No. 9781534457270
$17.99
My Rainy Day Rocket Ship
Sheppard, Markette


Rainy summer days are no match for a little astronaut who builds the perfect rocket ship for an indoor space adventure to another galaxy, where the sky is his only limit!

A stormy afternoon and an order from Mom to stay inside are no match for this little dreamer, who uses...

Item No. 9781534461772
$17.99
Mermaid in the Bathtub
Zarchi, Nurit

The Mermaid in the Bathtub is a charming, gorgeously retro retelling of Hans Christian Andersen's classic story "The Little Mermaid," by beloved Israeli author and illustrator duo Nurit Zarchi and Rutu Modan.

One day, a resolutely ordinary young man named Mr....

Item No. 9781632062116
$22.99
Watercress
Wang, Andrea
Caldecott Medal Winner
Newbery Honor Book
APALA Award Winner

A story about the power of sharing memories--including the painful ones--and the way our heritage stays with and shapes us, even when we don't see it.

New England Book Award Winner
A New York Times Best...

Item No. 9780823446247
$18.99
A Beasty Story
Martin Jr, Bill
In a dark, dark house, in a dark, dark wood lurks a creepy, beasty . . . BEAST! But don't be scared--this beast may not be so beastly after all. The beloved Bill Martin Jr and Steven Kellogg bring their enormous talents together to create a ghoulish story that's both scary and snug.

Includes...

Item No. 9780152165604
$7.00
A Big Bed for Little Snow - Autographed
Lin, Grace

Autographed for you by Grace Lin! Please leave any personalization requests in box below.

A companion to the Caldecott Honor book A Big Mooncake for Little Star!

A heartwarming and tender picture book introducing readers to their first snow, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin.
When it was quiet, Little Snow grinned and...

Item No. 9780316478366
$18.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
A Big Mooncake for Little Star - Autographed
Lin, Grace

Autographed for you by Grace Lin! Please leave any personalization requests in box below.

A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin
Pat, pat, pat...
Little Star's soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake.

Little Star loves the delicious Mooncake that...

Item No. 9780316404488
$18.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
A Child's Calendar - Softcover
Updike, John
Newly available in paperback, this 20th anniversary edition of a Caldecott Honor classic combines the star power of John Updike and Trina Schart Hyman.

Celebrate the little moments that make each month special in this beautiful picture book featuring twelve poems about a family and the...

Item No. 9780823445349
$8.99
A Color of His Own - Hardcover
Lionni, Leo
The classic story about searching for somewhere to belong, from four-time Caldecott honor winner Leo Lionni.

Elephants are gray. Pigs are pink. Only the chameleon has no color of his own. He is purple like the heather, yellow like a lemon, even black and orange striped like a tiger! Then...

Item No. 9780375836978
$14.99
A Color Of His Own - Softcover
Lionni, Leo
The classic story about searching for somewhere to belong, from four-time Caldecott honor winner Leo Lionni.

Elephants are gray. Pigs are pink. Only the chameleon has no color of his own. He is purple like the heather, yellow like a lemon, even black and orange striped like a tiger! Then...

Item No. 9780679887850
$8.99
A Crow of His Own (Hardcover)
Lambert, Megan Dowd
Clyde is the new rooster at Sunrise Farm. But he's having trouble fitting in and replacing Larry--the beloved rooster whose wake-up calls were legendary. The cow, the gaggle of hens, and the sheep reminisce about Larry while poor Clyde fails to croon the farmyard awake with the same finesse. Clyde...
Item No. 9781580894470
$16.95