Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.
We apologize that we are unable to ship to the UK and EU at this time.
X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Picture Books: Ages 2-7

True You - To Be Autographed 10/1
Rotner, Shelley

There are different ways to show and be who you are in this affirming photographic picture book that offers a celebratory and informative look at kids and their wide-ranging gender identities.

"Sometimes it's hard when kids say you have to be a boy or a girl when you're...

Item No. 9780063240469
$18.99
Colors - To Be Autographed 10/1
Shelley Rotner and Anne Woodhull

The world is full of vibrant colors--explore it with this beautiful book from an award-winning photographer!

A red fire truck races, orange pumpkins glow, and purple flowers bloom.

Vivid pictures of familiar scenes, animals, and objects inspire young readers to...

Item No. 9780823447329
$7.99
Families PB
Kelly, Sheila M

Big or small, similar or different-looking, there are all kinds of families.

Celebrate diversity with this picture book for very young children about the many faces of contemporary families. Bright photographs by National Geographic photographer Shelley Rotner capture...

Item No. 9780823435708
$7.99
Hello Autumn
Rotner, Shelley

Green leaves are turning colors. . . . Maple seeds twirl to the ground. . . . Animals get ready for the cold days ahead.

A simple text and vivid photographs show children the changes in animals, plants, and landscapes that occur during fall. Leaves change, animals prepare...

Item No. 9780823444335
$7.99
Homer
Rotner, Shelley

To be signed by Shelley Rotner on 10/1

When the Doggers take on the mighty Hounds in a baseball game, Homer hits a grand slam!
Alex loves baseball. So does his dog, Homer. One starry night, after Alex goes to sleep, Homer and his canine friends get ready for their big baseball game. Find out who will be the champions of the dog...

Item No. 9780545332729
$15.99
I'm Adopted (Hardcover)
Rotner, Shelley

Why was I adopted? What was it like where I was born? How did you find me?
Children have many questions about adoption. With a perceptive text and dynamic photographs, the creators of this book demystify adoption for young children and celebrate the joy that comes with adding to a family...

Item No. 9780823422944
$16.95
Shapes HB
Woodhull, Anne

Stunning photographs by a National Geographic photographer invite children to look around and find a world of circles, triangles, squares, and much more.

Beautifully photographed, a diverse group of children explore the unexpected shapes of everyday sights and objects. Eggs,...

Item No. 9780823446384
$17.99
Shapes
Woodhull, Anne

Stunning photographs by a National Geographic photographer invite children to look around and find a world of circles, triangles, squares, and much more.

Beautifully photographed, a diverse group of children explore the unexpected shapes of everyday sights and objects. Eggs,...

Item No. 9780823451845
$8.99
What's the Weather PB
Rotner, Shelley

Are tornados and twisters the same thing? Why does it rain? Stunning photos and simple text explain the wonders of weather to young children.

Images of puffy clouds, dramatic storms, and rainbows alternate with buoyant portraits of a diverse group of children experiencing the...

Item No. 9780823449415
$8.99
Wonder Walkers - Autographed
Archer, Micha

A Caldecott Honor Winner!

A Caldecott Honor winner!

Micha Archer's gorgeous, detailed collages give readers a fresh outlook on the splendors of nature.

Cover may vary.

When two curious kids embark on a wonder walk, they let their imaginations soar as they...

Item No. 9780593109649
$17.99
Daniel Finds a Poem
Archer, Micha

Stunning collage art full of rich color, glorious details, and a sense of wonder--reminiscent of the work of Ezra Jack Keats--illustrate this delightful story celebrating the poetry found in the world around us.

What is poetry? Is it glistening morning dew? Spider thinks so. Is it...

Item No. 9780399169137
$17.99
Daniel's Good Day
Archer, Micha

Daniel finds the poetry in the everyday activities of his own neighborhood, in this gorgeous companion to Ezra Jack Keats Award winner Daniel Finds a Poem.

The people in Daniel's neighborhood always say, Have a good day! But what exactly is a good day? Daniel is...

Item No. 9780399546723
$17.99
Prairie Days - To Be Autographed 10/8
MacLachlan, Patricia

A delicate, stunning account of life on the prairie from Newbery medalist Patricia MacLachlan.

Cool summer mornings begin with the rose orange sun and the smell of earth, and fade into hot summer nights with a yellow moon, covered in a quilt of stars. There are wagon rides,...

Item No. 9781442441910
$17.99
How to Read a Book
Alexander, Kwame

A stunning new picture book from Newbery Medalist Kwame Alexander and Caldecott Honoree Melissa Sweet! This New York Times bestselling duo has teamed up for the first time to bring you How to Read a Book, a poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading....

Item No. 9780062307811
$17.99
Please note that pre-orders do not guarantee a ticket for the event.
Surf's Up
Alexander, Kwame

Surf's up! Not yet, Dude! Books are boring! Not this one! Bro and Dude have very different ideas about how to spend the day at the beach. But as Bro continues to gasp and cheer as he reads his book (Moby Dick), Dude can't help but get curious. Before you can shout 'Surf's up!' both frogs are...

Item No. 9780735842205
$18.95
Please note that pre-orders do not guarantee a ticket for the event.
The Undefeated
Alexander, Kwame

Winner of the 2020 Caldecott Medal
A 2020 Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the 2020 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with...

Item No. 9781328780966
$17.99
Please note that pre-orders do not guarantee a ticket for the event.
The Mouse Who Carried a House on His Back
Stutzman, Jonathan

Celebrated artist Isabelle Arsenault joins forces with author Jonathan Stutzman for an enchanting tale about the expansive power of generosity.

Vincent was a mouse with boots on his feet, a hat on his head, and a house on his back.

When an ordinary spot on...

Item No. 9781536216790
$18.99
Bear is a Bear - To Be Autographed 10/15
Stutzman, Jonathan

To be signed by the author, Jonathan Stutzman on 10/15

A gorgeous, classic gift book about the enduring love between a little girl and her childhood friend, Bear, from popular author Jonathan Stutzman and Caldecott Medal-winning and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Dan Santat.

Bear is . . . a new friend, a...

Item No. 9780062880512
$18.99
Don't Feed the Coos
Stutzman, Jonathan

The dynamic team behind Llama Destroys the World returns with a laugh-out-loud tale about the dangers...of feeding pigeons!

When you see a coo, you will be tempted to give it a treat.
Coos are adorable, peaceful, kind of silly.
But DON'T FEED...

Item No. 9781250303189
$17.99
Tiny T. Rex and the Impossible Hug
Stutzman, Jonathan

Readers will root for bighearted, small armed Tiny. --Publishers Weekly

Tiny T. Rex has a HUGE problem. His friend Pointy needs cheering up and only a hug will do. But with his short stature and teeny T. Rex arms, is a hug impossible? Not if Tiny has anything to say...

Item No. 9781452170336
$15.99
Have You Seen This Book? - To Be Autographed 11/06
Booth, Tom
A hilarious, interactive book that breaks the fourth wall about a boy confronts a book thief when his favorite story is stolen. Perfect for fans of Don't Push the Button and There's a Monster in Your Book!

When a boy discovers that his...

Item No. 9780593116845
$17.99
Crow of His Own (Paperback)
Lambert, Megan Dowd

Clyde is the new rooster at Sunrise Farm. But he's having trouble fitting in and replacing Larry--the beloved rooster whose wake-up calls were legendary. The cow, the gaggle of hens, and the sheep reminisce about Larry while poor Clyde fails to croon the farmyard awake with the same finesse....

Item No. 9781580894487
$7.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
A Kid of Their Own
Lambert, Megan Dowd

In this fresh and funny follow-up to the Ezra Jack Keats Honor Book A Crow of His Own, rooster Clyde is forced to adjust to new roommates on the farm when Fran the goat and her kid, Rowdy, take up residence. Can Clyde handle having a new kid in town?

Rooster Clyde has...

Item No. 9781580898799
$16.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Real Sisters Pretend
Lambert, Megan Dowd

*CBC/NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Book*

*CCBC Choices Selection*

This warm, engaging story, which unfolds entirely through the conversation of two adopted sisters, was inspired by the author's own daughters, whom she...

I liked how they took care of one another in their pretend-play scenario about climbing a mountain, Lambert says, and I loved how they also took care of one another's feelings as they talked about adoption. REAL SISTERS PRETEND captures these interactions perfectly and movingly.

  • Told...
Item No. 9780884484417
$17.95
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Real Sisters Pretend PB
Lambert, Megan Dowd

Mia and Tayja pretend to be princesses on a perilous journey, but there's one thing they don't have to pretend. They know in their hearts that they're real sisters despite being adopted. Playful and sweet, Real Sisters Pretend celebrates the wonderful variety of modern families, in which the...

Item No. 9780884487845
$9.95