Please note: We are temporarily unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations at this time.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Antiracist Reading List

This Book is Anti-Racist - Autographed
Jewell, Tiffany

Autographed by author Tiffany Jewell

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Recommended by Oprah's Book Club, ESSENCE, We Need Diverse Books, ellentube, Brit + Co, PureWow, Teen Vogue, Time, New York, USA TODAY, and TODAY.com

Also available: This Book Is Anti-Racist Journal, a guided...

Item No. 9780711245211
$14.99
28 Days: Moments in Black History
Smith, Charles R

Each day features a different influential figure in African-American history, from Crispus Attucks, the first man shot in the Boston Massacre, sparking the Revolutionary War, to Madame C. J. Walker, who after years of adversity became the wealthiest black woman in the country, as well as one of...

Item No. 9781596438200
$18.99
A Good Kind of Trouble (Softcover)
Ramée, Lisa Moore

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

...

Item No. 9780062836694
$7.99
All American Boys
Kiely, Brendan

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Author Honor book, and recipient of the Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature.

In this New York Times bestselling novel, two teens—one black, one white—grapple with the repercussions of a single violent act that leaves their...

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Author Honor book, and recipient of the Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children's Literature.

In this New York Times bestselling novel, two teens--one black, one white--grapple with the repercussions of a single violent act that leaves their...

Item No. 9781481463348
$11.99
All Different Now: Juneteenth
Johnson, Angela
Experience the joy of Juneteenth in this celebration of freedom from the award-winning team of Angela Johnson and E.B. Lewis.

Through the eyes of one little girl, All Different Now tells the story of the first Juneteenth, the day freedom finally came to the last of the slaves in...

Item No. 9780689873768
$17.99
Antiracist Baby (Board Book)
Kendi, Ibram X
A #1 New York Times Bestseller!

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new board book that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves.

...

Item No. 9780593110416
$8.99
Ashley Bryan's ABC of African American Poetry (Softcover)
Ashley Bryan


"And God stepped out on space,
And he looked around and said:
I'm lonely -- I'll make me a world."

-- James Weldon Johnson
Thus begins Coretta Scott King Award-winner Ashley Bryan's collection of inspiring excerpts of poems by celebrated African American...

Item No. 9780689840456
$7.99
Bedtime Bonnet
Redd, Nancy
This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!...

Item No. 9781984895240
$17.99
Beyond Heroes and Holidays
An incredible, informative, collection of essays, articles, analysis, interviews, primary documents and interactive...
Item No. 9781878554178
$40.00
Black Boy Joy
Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors--including Jason Reynolds, Jerry Craft, and Kwame Mbalia!

Black Boy Joy has something for every type of reader.--The New York Times Book Review...

Item No. 9780593379936
$16.99
Black Heroes of the Wild West
Smith, James Otis

NYPL'S TOP 10 BOOKS ​FOR KIDS

Exploring American history and finding diversity at its roots!

This graphic novel by JAMES OTIS SMITH celebrates the extraordinary true tales of three black heroes who took control of their destinies and stood up for their...

Item No. 9781943145522
$9.99
Brave Black First:100 Postcards Celebrating More Than 50 African American Women Who Changed the World
Hudson, Cheryl

Staff Pick

These 100 stunning postcards celebrate 50 groundbreaking African American women, from Harriet Tubman and Rosa Parks to Angela Davis and Beyoncé--published in collaboration with the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Based on the children's book ...

Item No. 9781984825636
$20.00
Brown Girl Dreaming (Paperback)
Woodson, Jacqueline
Jacqueline Woodson's National Book Award and Newbery Honor winner is a powerful memoir that tells the moving story of her childhood in mesmerizing verse.

A President Obama O Book Club pick


Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway...
Item No. 9780147515827
$10.99
Calling the Water Drum
Redding, Latisha

The story of a young Haitian boy who loses his parents as they attempt to flee Haiti in a boat, and after this loss can only communicate with the outside world through playing his drum.

Henri and his parents leave their homeland, Haiti, after they receive an invitation from an...

Item No. 9781620141946
$17.95
Can I Touch Your Hair?
Waters, Charles

Two poets, one white and one black, explore race and childhood in this must-have collection tailored to provoke thought and conversation.

How can Irene and Charles work together on their fifth grade poetry project? They don't know each other . . . and they're not...

Item No. 9781512404425
$17.99
Chocolate Me! (Board Book Edition)
Diggs, Taye

A timely book about how it feels to be teased and taunted, and how each of us is sweet and lovely and delicious on the inside, no matter how we look.

The boy is teased for looking different than the other kids. His skin is darker, his hair curlier. He tells his mother he wishes he...

Item No. 9781250207852
$7.99
Class Act
Craft, Jerry

Have you read New Kid, the 2020 Newbery and Coretta Scott King Author award-winning sequel yet?

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it's Jordan's friend Drew who takes center stage in another...

Item No. 9780062885500
$12.99
Colors We Share
Dass, Angélica
Made for young readers, six and up, this book features portraits that celebrate the diverse beauty of human skin.

By depicting people from all over the world against a background that matches their skin tone, Angélica Dass shows us how wonderfully colorful humans really are, questioning...

Item No. 9781597115018
$16.95
Coretta Scott
Shange, Ntozake

Multiple starred reviews greeted this amazing collaboration between Ntozake Shange and Kadir Nelson. AsBooklist put it: "Poet and painter have joined forces to offer an indelible, emotional expression of the strength, beauty, and joy of one...

Item No. 9780061253645
$17.99
Coretta Scott (paperback)
Ntozake Shange

Walking many miles to school in the dusty road, young Coretta Scott knew the unfairness of life in the segregated south. A yearning for equality began to grow. Together with Martin Luther King, Jr., she gave birth to a vision of change through nonviolent protest. It was the beginning of a...

Item No. 9780061253669
$7.99
Curls
Forman, Ruth
A joyfully poetic board book that delivers an ode to African American girls and the beauty of their curls.

Me
Morning

Mirror Smile

Shine big
hair love

This simple, playful, and beautiful board book stars four friends who celebrate the joy of...

Item No. 9781534446311
$8.99
Dear Justyce
Stone, Nic
The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie...
Item No. 9781984829665
$18.99
Stone, Nic
"Powerful, wrenching." -JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Raw and gripping." -JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

"A must-read!" -ANGIE THOMAS, #1 ...

Item No. 9781101939529
$9.99
Different Differenter
Gupta, Jyoti

Different Differenter is an activity book for children, that thoughtfully addresses everyday skin color consciousness and bias in a way that's easy to understand.

Children's rich observations and questions about color, caste, and race elicit accurate yet straightforward responses. Jyoti's...

Item No. 9781732564428
$24.50
Don't Touch My Hair (Board Book)
Miller, Sharee
An entertaining picture book that teaches the importance of asking for permission first as a young girl attempts to escape the curious hands that want to touch her hair.

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy...

Item No. 9780316562607
$7.99