X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Antiracist Reading List

1619 Project: Born on the Water
Watson, Renée
The 1619 Project's lyrical picture book in verse chronicles the consequences of slavery and the history of Black resistance in the United States, thoughtfully rendered by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Nikole Hannah-Jones and Newbery honor-winning author Renée Watson.

A...

Item No. 9780593307359
$18.99
A History of Me
Theodore, Adrea
An uplifting message of hope for the future and pride in your history, inspired by a mother's experience of being the only Black child in her classroom.

Who do you see when you look in the mirror?

Emphasizing the strength, creativity, and courage passed down through generations, A...

Item No. 9780823442577
$18.99
All Different Now: Juneteenth
Johnson, Angela
Experience the joy of Juneteenth in this celebration of freedom from the award-winning team of Angela Johnson and E.B. Lewis.

Through the eyes of one little girl, All Different Now tells the story of the first Juneteenth, the day freedom finally came to the last of the slaves in...

Item No. 9780689873768
$17.99
America My Love, America My Heart
Peoples-Riley, Daria

America, do you love me?

Acclaimed author-artist Daria Peoples-Riley invites readers to answer timely--and timeless--questions beating inside the hearts of children across America. Exquisitely illustrated, with a powerful, lyrical text,...

Item No. 9780062993298
$17.99
An American Story
Alexander, Kwame
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Book
A 2023 New York Times Best Children's Book
A 2023 Publisher's Weekly Best Picture Book
An NPR Best Book of the Year

#1 New York Times Bestselling and award-winning author of The Undefeated...

Item No. 9780316473125
$18.99
Antiracist Baby (Board Book)
Kendi, Ibram X
A #1 New York Times Bestseller!

From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning and How to Be an Antiracist comes a fresh new board book that empowers parents and children to uproot racism in our society and in ourselves.

...

Item No. 9780593110416
$8.99
Ashley Bryan's ABC of African American Poetry (Softcover)
Ashley Bryan


"And God stepped out on space,
And he looked around and said:
I'm lonely -- I'll make me a world."

-- James Weldon Johnson
Thus begins Coretta Scott King Award-winner Ashley Bryan's collection of inspiring excerpts of poems by celebrated African American...

Item No. 9780689840456
$7.99
Bedtime Bonnet
Redd, Nancy
This joyous and loving celebration of family is the first-ever picture book to highlight Black nighttime hair traditions--and is perfect for every little girl who knows what it's like to lose her bonnet just before bedtime.

In my family, when the sun goes down, our hair goes up!...

Item No. 9781984895240
$17.99
Black Heroes of the Wild West
Smith, James Otis
Exploring American history and finding diversity at its roots!

This graphic novel by JAMES OTIS SMITH celebrates the extraordinary true tales of three black heroes who took control of their destinies and stood up for their communities in the Old West. Born into slavery in...

Item No. 9781943145522
$9.99
Brave Black First:100 Postcards Celebrating More Than 50 African American Women Who Changed the World
Hudson, Cheryl Willis
These 100 stunning postcards celebrate 50 groundbreaking African American women, from Harriet Tubman and Rosa Parks to Angela Davis and Beyoncé--published in collaboration with the Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture.

Based on the children's book ...

Item No. 9781984825636
$20.00
Brown is Beautiful
Kelkar, Supriya

For fans of Hair Love and Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, here is an empowering picture book about recognizing the beauty around you and within you by award-winning author Supriya Kelkar and rising star illustrator Noor Sofi.

Brown is beautiful.

On a hike with...

Item No. 9780374389529
$18.99
Can I Touch Your Hair?
Waters, Charles

Two poets, one white and one black, explore race and childhood in this must-have collection tailored to provoke thought and conversation.

How can Irene and Charles work together on their fifth grade poetry project? They don't know each other . . . and they're not...

Item No. 9781512404425
$17.99
Choosing Brave: How Mamie Till-Mobley and Emmett Till
Joy, Angela

A Caldecott-honor winning picture book biography of the mother of Emmett Till, and how she channeled grief over her son's death into a call to action for the civil rights movement.

Mamie Till-Mobley is the mother of Emmett Till, the 14-year-old boy who was brutally murdered...

Item No. 9781250220950
$19.99
Colors We Share
Dass, Angélica
Made for young readers, six and up, this book features portraits that celebrate the diverse beauty of human skin.

By depicting people from all over the world against a background that matches their skin tone, Angélica Dass shows us how wonderfully colorful humans really are, questioning...

Item No. 9781597115018
$16.95
Coretta Scott
Shange, Ntozake

Multiple starred reviews greeted this amazing collaboration between Ntozake Shange and Kadir Nelson. AsBooklist put it: "Poet and painter have joined forces to offer an indelible, emotional expression of the strength, beauty, and joy of one...

Item No. 9780061253645
$17.99
Coretta Scott (paperback)
Ntozake Shange

Walking many miles to school in the dusty road, young Coretta Scott knew the unfairness of life in the segregated south. A yearning for equality began to grow. Together with Martin Luther King, Jr., she gave birth to a vision of change through nonviolent protest. It was the beginning of a...

Item No. 9780061253669
$8.99
Curls
Forman, Ruth
A joyfully poetic board book that delivers an ode to African American girls and the beauty of their curls.

Me
Morning

Mirror Smile

Shine big
hair love

This simple, playful, and beautiful board book stars four friends who celebrate the joy of...

Item No. 9781534446311
$8.99
Dear Justyce
Stone, Nic
An NPR Best Book of the Year * The stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. An incarcerated teen writes letters to his best friend about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system.

An unflinching look into...

Item No. 9781984829665
$18.99
Dear Martin
Stone, Nic
Powerful, wrenching." -JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

Raw and gripping. -JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

A must-read!" -ANGIE THOMAS, #1 New...

Item No. 9781101939529
$9.99
Different Differenter
Gupta, Jyoti

Different Differenter is an activity book for children, that thoughtfully addresses everyday skin color consciousness and bias in a way that's easy to understand.

Children's rich observations and questions about color, caste, and race elicit accurate yet straightforward responses. Jyoti's...

Item No. 9781732564428
$24.50
Don't Touch My Hair (Board Book)
Miller, Sharee
An entertaining picture book that teaches the importance of asking for permission first as a young girl attempts to escape the curious hands that want to touch her hair.

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy...

Item No. 9780316562607
$7.99
Don't Touch My Hair!
Miller, Sharee
An entertaining picture book that teaches the importance of asking for permission first as a young girl attempts to escape the curious hands that want to touch her hair.

It seems that wherever Aria goes, someone wants to touch her hair. In the street, strangers reach for her fluffy curls...

Item No. 9780316562584
$17.99
Exquisite: The Poetry & Life of Gwendolyn Brooks
Slade, Suzanne

2021 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

2021 Siebert Honor Book

A picture-book biography of celebrated poet Gwendolyn Brooks, the first Black person to win the Pulitzer Prize

A 2021 Coretta Scott King Book Award Illustrator Honor Book
A 2021 Robert F. Sibert Informational Honor Book

A 2021 Association of Library...

Item No. 9781419734113
$18.99
For Beautiful Black Boys Who Believe in a Better World
Waters, Michael W

Winner of the 2020 Goddard Riverside CBC Youth Book Prize for Social Justice

A Top Ten Selection of the 2021 In the Margins Book Awards

A Texas Institute of Letters 2021 Finalist for Best Picture Book

2021 Winner of the Wilbur Award for...

Item No. 9781947888081
$18.00
For Black Girls Like Me
Lockington, Mariama J

In this lyrical coming-of-age story about family, sisterhood, music, race, and identity, Schneider Family Book Award and Stonewall Honor-winning author Mariama J. Lockington draws on some of the emotional truths from her own experiences growing up with an adoptive white family.

I...

Item No. 9781250250322
$7.99