X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Fairy Tales

Sukey and the Mermaid
Robert D. San Souci and Brian Pinkney

Sukey's new step-pa is a mean, bossy man. Every day Sukey wakes at dawn to work in the garden. All her step-pa ever does is watch her and yell if she so much as stops to fan herself. Sukey's ma calls him Mister Jones. Sukey prefers the name "Mister Hard-Times".

One day, Sukey runs away to...

Item No. 9780689807183
$8.99
7 Dark Tales
Grace, Christine
This collection of seven short stories is a startling and imaginative take on the fairytale form. Inspired by the Brothers Grimm, each narrative gently unfolds, reminiscent of ancient, oral storytelling. The reader is constantly taken in unexpected directions as the tales explore contemporary...
Item No. 9781925386844
$18.99
A Natural History Of Mermaids
Hawkins, Emily
Featuring a silver-foil-embossed cloth cover, a ribbon marker and sprayed silver edges, this gorgeous volume is filled with beautiful illustrations and precise notes detailing the secret life of mermaids.

In 1872, intrepid (fictional) explorer Darcy Delamare disguised herself as a man...

Item No. 9780711266513
$30.00
Adelita (Softcover)
Tomie dePaola

Hace mucho tiempo?a long time ago?there lived a beautiful young woman named Adelita. So begins the age-old tale of a kind-hearted young woman, her jealous stepmother, two hateful stepsisters, and a young man in search of a wife. The young man, Javier, falls madly in love with beautiful Adelita,...

Item No. 9780142401873
$6.99
Aesop's Fables
Aesop

Please, O King, cried the Mouse, spare me this time and I shall never forget your kindness. Someday I may be able to repay you. The Lion was so amused by this idea that he let the poor creature go.

In sixth-century Greece, it is said, there lived a slave named Aesop who was renowned...

Item No. 9780805063158
$10.99
An Illustrated Treasury of Swedish Fairy Tales

A centenary gift edition of the bestselling Swedish folk tales anthology by John Bauer, whose artwork has inspired Jim Henson, Frank Oz and Neil Gaiman.

A new centenary gift edition of the much-loved collection of folk and fairy tales from Sweden, illustrated by acclaimed...

Item No. 9781782505938
$24.95
Anansi and the Golden Pot
Selasi, Taiye
A West African story about the much-loved trickster, Anansi, retold and reimagined for a new generation by award-winning author Taiye Selasi

"Allow me to introduce myself."
But he needed no introduction. "Anansi the spider!" said Anansi the boy. "The tales were true!"...

Item No. 9780744049909
$16.99
Ancient Night
Bowles, David
At the start of things, the elders say,
the universe was hushed and still.
The moon alone shone bright and round
in the star-speckled dark of the sky.

David Álvarez is one of the most extraordinary artists working today. His black-and-white illustrations have gained...

Item No. 9781646142514
$18.99
Aphrodite (Olympians #6)
O'Connor, George

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson!

In volume six of Olympians, graphic novel author/artist George O'Connor turns the spotlight on Aphrodite, the goddess of love. Look for the same thoroughly researched and wonderfully accessible comics storytelling as O'...

Item No. 9781596437395
$12.99
Apollo (Olympians #8)
O'Connor, George

Mighty Apollo is known by all as the god of the sun, but there's more to this Olympian than a bright smile and a shining chariot. In the latest volume of Olympians, New York Times bestselling author George O'Connor continues to turn his extensive knowledge of the original Greek myths into...

Item No. 9781626720152
$10.99
Ares (Olympians #7)
O'Connor, George

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The myth continues in the tenth year of the fabled Trojan War where two infamous gods of war go to battle. The spotlight is thrown on Ares, god of war, and primarily focuses on his battle with the clever and powerful Athena. As the battle culminates and the gods...

Item No. 9781626720138
$12.99
Artemis (Olympians #9)
O'Connor, George
Shunned even before she was born and destined to live a life of solitude, Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, finds power through her skilled hunting ability and mighty bow. She slays those who wish to do harm to the innocent and takes care of the young and helpless. She protects women and young girls,...
Item No. 9781626725225
$12.99
Arthur & the Golden Rope (Softcover)
Todd-Stanton, Joe
Imagine a vault so cavernous that it could contain all the world's greatest treasures and relics, from mummified remains of ancient monarchs to glistening swords brandished by legendary warriors. Who could be in charge of such a vault and how did he come into possession of such a unique collection...
Item No. 9781912497485
$10.99
Arthur, the Always King
Crossley-Holland, Kevin
In this pulse-quickening retelling, Carnegie Medalist Kevin Crossley-Holland and former British Children's Laureate Chris Riddell welcome another generation to Camelot.

Translated, adapted, told, and retold, the stories of King Arthur and his Knights of the Round Table have captivated...

Item No. 9781536212655
$29.99
Asgardians: Odin
O'Connor, George

Following his smash-hit the Olympians series, New York Times bestseller George O'Connor embarks on a new saga about the Norse gods. This first volume tells the story of the warrior god Odin!

Welcome to the Nine Worlds, home of Gods, Valkyries, Dwarves, Jotnar, and more! Travel...

Item No. 9781250760777
$12.99
Athena (Olympians #2)
O'Connor, George

George O'Connor's vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to life in the New York Times Bestselling series The Olympians. This fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson!

Step into a world of fearsome battle, cruel...

Item No. 9781596434325
$10.99
Beautiful Blackbird
Bryan, Ashley
A tale from the Ila-speaking people of Zambia gets new life in this picture book adaptation from Coretta Scott King Award winner Ashley Bryan about appreciating one's heritage and discovering the beauty within.

Black is beautiful, uh-huh!

Long ago, Blackbird was voted the most...

Item No. 9780689847318
$19.99
Beauty and the Beast
Lee, H Chuku

In this remarkable retelling of Beauty and the Beast, award-winning illustrator Pat Cummings creates an enchanted fairy-tale world flavored by the art, architecture, and culture of West Africa, while writer H. Chuku Lee stays true to the story of this beloved classic. With breathtaking...

Item No. 9780688148195
$17.99
Bedtime Full of Stories
McAllister, Angela
Look forward to bedtime with this richly illustrated treasury of 50 bedtime stories from around the world, each the perfect length to read aloud.

There's always time for a bedtime story, so snuggle up and get ready to drift off to the land of nod with this collection of magical tales...

Item No. 9780711249547
$22.99
Beneath the Moon: Fairy Tales, Myths and Divine Stories from Around the World
Yoshitani, Yoshi
Powerful and universal retellings of seventy-eight divine stories, legends, and myths from around the world, each accompanied by a gorgeous illustration from acclaimed artist Yoshi Yoshitani.

Many of the lessons we learn are shared stories passed among cultures and generations. In this...

Item No. 9781984857224
$18.00
Brothers of the Knight-PB
Allen, Debbie

Sale! Was $6.99, now only $3.98!

Debbie Allen's contemporary retelling of the classic tale The Twelve Dancing Princesses with illustrations from Kadir Nelson!

Reverend Knight can't understand why his twelve sons' sneakers are torn to threads each and every morning, and the boys aren't talking. They know...

Item No. 9780142300169
$3.98
Cendrillon - Softcover
Robert D. San Souci and Brian Pinkney

A Caldecott Honor-winning author-illustrator team brings us a Caribbean Cinderella story, told from the perspective of the magical godmother.

You may think you already know this story about a beautiful servant girl, a cruel stepmother, a magnificent ball, and a lost slipper...

Item No. 9780689848889
$8.99
Cinderella Liberator
Solnit, Rebecca

"This is a reminder of hope and possibility, of kindness and compassion, and--perhaps most salient--imagination and liberty. Through the imaginations of our childhoods, can we find our true selves liberated in adulthood?"

--Chelsea Handler



In her debut children's...

Item No. 9781608465965
$17.95
Crane Girl
Manley, Curtis

A boy helps an injured crane, that then returns in human form to weave silk and save the boy and his father from poverty. Adapted from Japanese folktales and told in alternating prose and haiku.

While gathering firewood, Yasuhiro comes upon an injured crane hidden in the snow. He...

Item No. 9781885008572
$18.95
Crowned: Magical Folk and Fairy Tales from the Diaspora
Bethencourt, Regis

  Staff Pick

...

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From the New York Times bestselling duo who brought you GLORY: Magical Visions of Black Beauty, comes CROWNED: Magical Folk and Fairy Tales from the Diaspora. Filled with visual magic and storytelling wonder, these stories reimagine...

Item No. 9781250281388
$35.00