X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Gardening

A Seed Grows
Portis, Antoinette
From a tiny seed to a huge, fold-out bloom, the transformative life cycle of a sunflower plays out in this bold read-aloud.

A Sibert Honor Book!
A Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book!

To understand how a seed becomes a sunflower, you have to peek beneath the soil and wait...

Item No. 9780823448920
$18.99
A Seed is Sleepy - Softcover
Aston, Dianna
From the creators of the award-winning An Egg Is Quiet, A Butterfly is Patient, and A Rock Is Lively comes this gorgeous and informative look at the intricate, complex, and often surprising world of seeds. Now in paperback!

"A beautifully illustrated introduction to...

Item No. 9781452131474
$7.99
Fan Brothers Postcard - The Night Gardener

4" x 6" postcard featuring arwork by the Fan Brothers from their book, The Night...

Item No. 76448056
$1.00
Farmer Will Allen and the Growing Table
Martin, Jacqueline Briggs
Will Allen is no ordinary farmer. A former basketball star, he's as tall as his truck, and he can hold a cabbage--or a basketball--in one hand. But what is most special about Farmer Will is that he can see what others can't see. When he looked at an abandoned city lot in Milwaukee he saw a huge...
Item No. 9780983661535
$17.95
Goodnight Veggies (Board Book)
Murray, Diana



★ "The childlike approach, appealing art, and relatable worm character...connect story and audience." --The Horn Book, STARRED review

Every veggie needs their shut-eye in this bedtime book that celebrates community, the joys of a small garden, and the...

Item No. 9780358452119
$9.99
Goodnight, Veggies
Murray, Diana

★ "The childlike approach, appealing art, and relatable worm character...connect story and audience." --The Horn Book, STARRED review

Every veggie needs their shut-eye in this bedtime book that celebrates community, the joys of a small garden, and the...

Item No. 9781328866837
$17.99
Grandpa Green
Smith, Lane

A Caldecott Honor Book

From the creator of the national bestseller It's a Book comes a Caldecott Honor-winning timeless story of family history, legacy, and love.

Grandpa Green wasn't always a gardener. He was a farmboy and a kid with chickenpox and a soldier and, most of...

Item No. 9781596436077
$16.99
Green Green: A Community Gardening Story
Lamba, Baldev
Green grass is wide and fresh and clean for a family to play in, and brown dirt is perfect for digging a garden. But when gray buildings start to rise up and a whole city builds, can there be any room for green space? The neighborhood children think so, and they inspire the community to join...
Item No. 9780374327972
$17.99
Grow
Platt, Cynthia
"Is it possible for one child to make a difference? This is a simple book with a powerful lesson. A solid read-aloud and a great lead-in to group projects."--School Library Journal
"A buoyant read to sweeten the spirit."--Kirkus Reviews

Can one little girl...

Item No. 9781681522395
$17.99
Grow: A Family Guide to Plants
Reyes, Riz

Discover 15 plants and fungi with life-changing powers in Grow: A Family Guide to Plants and How to Grow Them.

Meet their surprising relatives (the tasty tomato is a cousin of deadly nightshade!) and unearth their interesting stories (lettuce was the first plant...

Item No. 9781419756658
$22.99
Growing Vegetable Soup Board Book
Ehlert, Lois

A bright and beautiful classic about the simple pleasures of gardening from bestselling and beloved Caldecott Honoree Lois Ehlert.

Calling all budding gardeners! What would you like to grow today? Is it green beans, or peas? Corn or carrots?

There's so much to learn...

Item No. 9780152050559
$6.95
Harvesting Hope
Krull, Kathleen

In this Pura Belpre award-winning picture book, illustrated by Caldecott Honree Yuyi Morales, acclaimed author Kathleen Krull celebrates Latinx civil rights leader Cesar Chavez. An inspirational book about resistance and hope.

When Cesar Chavez led a 340-mile peaceful...

Item No. 9780152014377
$17.99
How Does My Garden Grow
Muller, Gerda

Sophie lives in the city, and her vegetables come from the supermarket. Then she goes to visit her grandparents in the countryside -- and soon discovers how much there is to learn about how things grow!

Sophie helps her grandfather through the different seasons, finding out about mulching...

Item No. 9781782507291
$18.95
How to Say Hello to a Worm
Percival, Kari
Say "hello" to worms, dirt, peas, and more in this gentle how-to guide for connecting with nature.

* Winner of the EZRA JACK KEATS WRITER AWARD
* An ALA Notable Children's Book
* A CLEL Bell Award Winner

The beautiful simplicity of a garden is depicted...

Item No. 9780593226797
$18.99
In the Vegetable Garden Sticker Activity Book
Cosneau, Olivia
What's more fun or magical than digging in the dirt, planting and watering seeds, discovering the first seedlings of the season, and finally eating your own fruits and vegetables?

Lovingly illustrated by Olivia Cosneau, this book is a colorful introduction to the magical world of the garden,...

Item No. 9781616895716
$9.99
Love Makes a Garden Grow
Yoo, Taeeun
From the bestselling illustrator of Strictly No Elephants comes a sweetly personal and stunningly illustrated picture book about a young girl who grows closer to her grandfather by tending to the garden with him.

When I am as small
as a sprout,
...

Item No. 9781534442863
$18.99
Miss Maple's Seeds
Wheeler, Eliza
Fans of Miss Rumphius will adore this gorgeous picture book which introduces the kind, nature-loving Miss Maple, who celebrates the miracle in each seed.

Miss Maple gathers lost seeds that haven't yet found a place to sprout. She takes them on field trips to explore places to grow. In...

Item No. 9780399257926
$16.99
Miss Maple's Seeds (Softcover)
Wheeler, Eliza
This stunning New York Times Bestseller introduces the kind, nature-loving Miss Maple, who celebrates the miracle in each seed--perfect for fans of Miss Rumphius!

What happens to seeds that don't sprout? Fortunately, they have Miss Maple to look after them....

Item No. 9780425288894
$8.99
Miss Rumphius - Hardcover
Cooney, Barbara
Now children can enjoy popular, best-selling Puffin books recorded on high-quality cassette tapes. They can read along with the book or just listen and enjoy the lively narration--complete with music and sound effects throughout each and every story. Pre-readers will love looking at all the...
Item No. 9780670479580
$17.99
Miss Rumphius - Softcover
Cooney, Barbara
Now children can enjoy popular, best-selling Puffin books recorded on high-quality cassette tapes. They can read along with the book or just listen and enjoy the lively narration--complete with music and sound effects throughout each and every story. Pre-readers will love looking at all the...
Item No. 9780140505399
$8.99
No Small Potatoes
Bolden, Tonya
Discover the incredible true story of how one of history's most successful potato farmers began life as a slave and worked until he was named the "Potato King of the World"!

Junius G. Groves came from humble beginnings in the Bluegrass State. Born in Kentucky into slavery, freedom came...

Item No. 9780385752763
$17.99
Card-Vegetable Garden
Wahl, Phoebe

A child enjoys the fruit of a gardener's labor among the the vegetables!

Send a greeting card reminiscent of memories made and special moments with Phoebe’s full-color illustrations.

...

Item No. 76041735
$6.50
Print-Vegetable Garden
Wahl, Phoebe

A child taste-tests the fruits of the gardener's labor in the vegetable garden!

Bring intimacy and personality to your space with our prints of Phoebe’s full-color...

Item No. 33444825
$45.00
Plant the Tiny Seed
Matheson, Christie

How do you make a garden grow? In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, you will see how tiny seeds bloom into beautiful flowers. And by tapping, clapping, waving, and more, young readers can join in the action! Christie...

Item No. 9780062393395
$16.99
Seedfolks
Fleischman, Paul

ALA Best Book for Young Adults ∙ School Library Journal Best Book ∙ Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ IRA/CBC Children's Choice NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts

A Vietnamese girl plants six lima beans in a...

Item No. 9780064472074
$8.99