Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.

Please note: We are currently unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Black Voices: Picture Books as Antiracist Resources

All books on display in the "Black Voices: Picture Books as Antiracist Resources" exhibition, on view at The Carle's Reading Library until January 3, 2021.

Find the entire booklist and additional resources on our bookstore blog here.

Oh the Things We're For
Nagara, Innosanto

Pre-order now! Released October 6, 2020

A new book by the author of A is for Activist is a rhyming, boldly illustrated vision of a better world.

When you go to a march
And raise your sign high
You'll make people smile
who thought you were shy
And you'll make people...

Item No. 9781644210147
$17.95
Princess Hair
Miller, Sharee
Princesses with curls wear pearls. Princesses with head wraps take long naps. And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows.

Celebrate different hair shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book! From dreadlocks to blowouts to braids, Princess Hair...

Item No. 9780316562614
$17.99
Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat
Steptoe, Javaka
Winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal and the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award
Jean-Michel Basquiat and his unique, collage-style paintings rocketed to fame in the 1980s as a cultural phenomenon unlike anything the art world had ever seen. But before that, he was a little boy who...
Item No. 9780316213882
$18.99
Shirley Chisholm is a Verb
Chambers, Veronica
A timely picture book biography about Shirley Chisholm, the first Black woman in Congress, who sought the Democratic nomination to be the president of the United States.

Shirley Chisholm famously said, If they don't give you a seat at the table, bring a folding chair. This dynamic...

Item No. 9780803730892
$18.99
Skin Again
Hooks, Bell
From legendary author and critic bell hooks and multi-Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka comes a new way to talk about race and identity that will appeal to parents of the youngest readers.
The skin I'm in is just a covering. It cannot tell my story. If you want to know who I am...
Item No. 9781484799239
$13.99
Something Happened in Our Town
Hazzard, Ann
Now A Minneapolis Children's Theatre Company Original World Premiere Production

Order the companion books, Something Happened in Our Park: Standing Together After Gun Violence and Something Happened to My Dad: A Story About Immigration and Family Separation, now.

...
Item No. 9781433828546
$16.99
Sulwe
Nyong'o, Lupita

Staff Pick


A New York Times bestseller!
Featured in its own episode in the Netflix original show Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices!
Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award
Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children's...
Item No. 9781534425361
$17.99
Tan to Tamarind: Poems About the Color Brown
Iyengar, Malathi Michelle

A poetry collection that explores the spectrum of beautiful shades of brown.

When you look in the mirror, what do you see? Tan, sienna, topaz, or tamarind? Poet Malathi Michelle Iyengar sees a whole spectrum of beautiful shades of brown. Swirls of henna decorate ocher hands and feet at an...

Item No. 9780892394128
$10.95
Nelson, Vaunda Micheaux

In the 1930s, Lewis's dad, Lewis Michaux Sr., had an itch he needed to scratch--a book itch. How to scratch it? He started a bookstore in Harlem and named it the National Memorial African Bookstore.

And as far as Lewis Michaux Jr. could tell, his father's bookstore was one of a...

Item No. 9780761339434
$17.99
The Day You Begin
Woodson, Jacqueline
A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

Featured in its own episode in the Netflix original show Bookmarks: Celebrating Black Voices!

National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpré Illustrator Award winner Rafael López have teamed up to...

Item No. 9780399246531
$18.99
The Field
Paul, Baptiste
Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of 2018

School Library Journal Best Book of 2018

The Horn Book Best Picture Book of 2018

Shelf Awareness Best Children's Book of the Year

Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year

...
Item No. 9780735843127
$17.95
The Other Side
Woodson, Jacqueline

Free autographed bookplate by E.B. Lewis with purchase

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

Clover's mom says it isn't safe to cross the fence that segregates their African-American side of town from the white side where Anna lives. But the two girls strike up a friendship, and get around the...

Item No. 9780399231162
$18.99
The Patchwork Bike
Clarke, Maxine Beneba
It has a bent bucket seat, bashed tin-can handlebars, and wood-cut wheels -- and riding the patchwork bike that you and your crazy brothers made is the best fun in the whole village.

When you live in a village at the edge of the no-go desert, you need to make your own fun. That's when...

Item No. 9781536200317
$15.99
The Patchwork Bike (Softcover)
Clarke, Maxine Beneba
It has a bent bucket seat, bashed tin-can handlebars, and wood-cut wheels -- and riding the patchwork bike that you and your crazy brothers made is the best fun in the whole village.

When you live in a village at the edge of the no-go desert, you need to make your own fun. That's when...

Item No. 9781536217414
$7.99
The Roots of Rap
Boston Weatherford, Carole
"Carole Boston Weatherford, once again, delivers a resounding testament and reminder, that hip-hop is a flavorful slice of larger cultural cake. And to be hip-hop-to truly be it-we must remember that we are also funk, jazz, soul, folktale, and poetry. We must remember that . . . we are who we...
Item No. 9781499804119
$18.99
The Thing About Bees
Larkin, Shabazz
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS, AND A TRIBUTE TO THE BEES THAT POLLINATE THE FOODS WE LOVE TO EAT.

Sometimes bees can be a bit rude. They fly in your face and prance on your food.

And yet... without bees, we might not have strawberries for shortcakes or avocados...
Item No. 9780998047799
$17.99
The Undefeated
Alexander, Kwame

Winner of the 2020 Caldecott Medal
A 2020 Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the 2020 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with...

Item No. 9781328780966
$17.99
Undefeated-Autographed
Alexander, Kwame

Winner of the 2020 Caldecott Medal
A 2020 Newbery Honor Book
Winner of the 2020 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

The Newbery Award-winning author of THE CROSSOVER pens an ode to black American triumph and tribulation, with...

Item No. AUTOKN6
$17.99
We March
Shane W. Evans
On August 28, 1963, a remarkable event took place--more than 250,000 people gathered in our nation's capital to participate in the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom. The march began at the Washington Monument and ended with a rally at the Lincoln Memorial, where Martin Luther King...
Item No. 9781596435391
$16.99
Where's Rodney?
Bogan, Carmen
A Black boy's transformative day out in nature, recommended by Social Justice Books and We Are Kid Lit Collective

Rodney is that kid who just can't sit still. He's inside, but he wants to be outside. Outside is where Rodney always wants to be. Between school and home, there is a...

Item No. 9781930238732
$16.99
Whose Toes are Those? (Board Book)
Asim, Jabari
A vibrant, playful verse that celebrates a beautiful brown baby's adorable little toes, for fans of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes.

Who do you suppose has such fine toes?So brown and sweet. Who could have such darling feet?
Snuggle with a child on your...

Item No. 9780316454322
$7.99
Why Am I Me?
Britt, Paige
This loving ode to our shared humanity is the perfect introduction to conversations about identity and Anti-Racism.* Will invite the book's audience to grapple with themes of individuality, diversity, universality, and what it means to be human. -- The Horn Book, starred reviewLoved it. --...
Item No. 9781338053142
$17.99
Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice
Gatwood, Olivia

This collection of poems by women of color covers topics relating to social justice, activism, discrimination and empathy, focusing on the need to speak out and inspiring middle-graders. -Vogue

Woke: A Young Poet's Guide to Justice is a collection of...

Item No. 9781250311207
$18.99
Young, Gifted and Black
Wilson, Jamia
"...to be revisited again and again...The candy-colored pages and straightforward stories are hard to resist..." -The New York Times

"...diverse collection of iconic figures...vibrantly illustrated...beautifully crafted volume..." -Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

...

Item No. 9781786031587
$23.99
Your Name is a Song
Thompkins-Bigelow, Jamilah

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian, Black-American, Latinx, and Middle Eastern names on...

Item No. 9781943147724
$16.99