Free standard shipping on orders $100+ with coupon code FREESHIP. United States destinations only. Some restrictions may apply.

Please note: We are currently unable to ship to EU and United Kingdom destinations.

X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Refugee, Migrant & Immigration Stories

A New Kind of Wild
Hoang, Zara Gonzalez
This sweet author-illustrator debut celebrates imagination, the magic of friendship, and all the different ways we make a new place feel like home.

For Ren, home is his grandmother's little house, and the lush forest that surrounds it. Home is a place of magic and wonder, filled with all...

Item No. 9780525553892
$17.99
Calling the Water Drum
Redding, Latisha

A moving story about a family's attempt to flee Haiti in a boat, and a young boy who bravely learns to navigate a new world through playing his drum.

Henri and his parents leave their homeland, Haiti, after they receive an invitation from an uncle to come to New York City. Only able to...

Item No. 9781620141946
$17.95
Chance: Escape from the Holocaust
Shulevitz, Uri

Winner of the SCBWI Golden Kite Award for Illustrated Books for Older Readers
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2020
A New York Times Best Children's Book of 2020
Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2020
Booklist Best Books...

Item No. 9780374313715
$19.99
Dreamers
Morales, Yuyi
We are resilience. We are hope. We are dreamers.

Yuyi Morales brought her hopes, her passion, her strength, and her stories with her, when she came to the United States in 1994 with her infant son. She left behind nearly everything she owned, but she didn't come empty-handed. ...

Item No. 9780823440559
$18.99
Esperanza Rising
A reissue of Pam Munoz Ryan's bestselling backlist with a distinctive new author treatment.

Esperanza thought she'd always live with her family on their ranch in Mexico--she'd always have fancy dresses, a beautiful home, and servants. But a sudden tragedy forces Esperanza and Mama...
Item No. 9780439120425
$7.99
Facing Fear: An Immigration Story
Williams, Karen Lynn

Enrique can't believe his father won't let him travel to his team's big soccer tournament. Papi says going across the checkpoint is too risky. Even though Enrique is a U.S. citizen, the rest of the family isn't--and if the border police stop them, the family might be split up. The next morning...

Item No. 9780802854902
$18.99
Front Desk
Yang, Kelly
Four starred reviews and over ten best-of-year lists!* Many readers will recognize themselves or their neighbors in these pages. -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Winner of the Asian / Pacific American Award for Children's Literature!* Many readers will recognize themselves or their...
Item No. 9781338157826
$7.99
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story
Bates, Amy June

A 2020 Sydney Taylor Honor Book!
A 2019 National Jewish Book Award Winner!

Gittel and her mother were supposed to immigrate to America together, but when her mother is stopped by the health inspector, Gittel must make the journey alone. Her mother writes her cousin's...

Item No. 9781419727474
$17.99
Hear My Voice/Escucha Mi Voz
Binford, Warren


The moving stories of children in migration--in their own words.

"In Spanish and in English, a devastating first-person account of children's experiences in detention at the southern U.S. border.... A powerful, critical document only made more heartbreaking in picture-book form...

Item No. 9781523513482
$19.95
Here I Am PB
Kim, Patti

Newly arrived from their faraway homeland, a boy and his family enter into the lights, noise, and traffic of a busy American city in this dazzling wordless picture book. The language is unfamiliar. Food, habits, games, and gestures are puzzling. They boy clings tightly to his special keepsake...

Item No. 9781479519316
$7.95
How I Learned Geography
Shulevitz, Uri

Having fled from war in their troubled homeland, a boy and his family are living in poverty in a strange country. Food is scarce, so when the boy's father brings home a map instead of bread for supper, at first the boy is furious. But when the map is hung on the wall, it floods their cheerless...

Item No. 9780374334994
$18.99
How to Put a Whale in a Suitcase
Guridi, Raul
A thought-provoking and striking new title from Raul Guridi that explores the theme of migration

What happens if you suddenly have to leave your home and put everything you love into one suitcase? How do you begin to fit everything in? As the boy in the book tries to squeeze his whale...

Item No. 9781849766234
$14.99
I Dream of Popo (with Autographed Bookplate)
Blackburne, Livia

Free bookplate autographed by Livia Blackburne and Julia Kuo with purchase.

From New York Times bestselling author Livia Blackburne and illustrator Julia Kuo, here is I Dream of Popo. This delicate, emotionally rich picture book celebrates a special connection that crosses time zones and oceans as Popo and her granddaughter hold each other in their hearts...

Item No. 9781250249319
$18.99
I is for Immigrants
Alko, Selina

This alphabet picture book companion to the popular B Is for Brooklyn weaves together a multitude of immigrant experiences in a concise, joyful package. For readers of Dreamers by Yuyi Morales.

What do African dance, samosas, and Japanese gardens have in common? They are...

Item No. 9781250237866
$18.99
I Lived on Butterfly Hill
Agosin, Marjorie
An eleven-year-old's world is upended by political turmoil in this "lyrically ambitious tale of exile and reunification" (Kirkus Reviews) from an award-winning poet, based on true events in Chile.

Celeste Marconi is a dreamer. She lives peacefully among friends and neighbors and...

Item No. 9781416994022
$9.99
In the Spirit of the Dream
Salazar, Aida

Celebratory, triumphant, and inspiring, In the Spirit of a Dream is a tribute to American immigrants of color, written in poems and illustrated by 13 first- and second-generation immigrant artists.

In the spirit of a dream, many immigrants of color set out...

Item No. 9781338552874
$18.99
Inside Out & Back Again
Lai, Thanhhà

Inside Out and Back Again is a #1 New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee--fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to...

Item No. 9780061962790
$8.99
Lilah Tov Good Night
Gundersheimer (Mister G), Ben
A soothing Hebrew lullaby takes on added meaning for a refugee family in this visually stunning debut.

As the moon rises, a family steps into the night on a journey toward a new beginning. Along the way, their little girl delights in the wonders of nature, saying good night--lilah...

Item No. 9781524740665
$17.99
Type name here: (Not to exceed 30 characters)
Lubna and Pebble
Meddour, Wendy
In an unforgettable story that subtly addresses the refugee crisis, a young girl must decide if friendship means giving up the one item that brings her comfort during a time of utter uncertainty.

Lubna's best friend is a pebble. Pebble always listens to her stories. Pebble always smiles...

Item No. 9780525554165
$17.99
Mango Moon
de Anda, Diane

When a father is taken away from his family and faces deportation, the family is left to grieve and wonder what comes next. Maricela, Manuel, and their mother face the many challenges of having their lives completely changed by the absence of their father and husband. Having to move, missed...

Item No. 9780807549575
$16.99
Messy Roots
Gao, Laura

"Messy Roots is a laugh-out-loud, heartfelt, and deeply engaging story of their journey to find themself--as an American, as the daughter of Chinese immigrants, as a queer person, and as a Wuhanese American in the middle of a pandemic."--Malaka Gharib, author of I Was Their...

Item No. 9780063067769
$14.99
Migrants
Watanabe, Issa

A heartstoppingly beautiful wordless picture book about migration and empathy.

The migrants must leave the forest. Borders are crossed, sacrifices made, loved ones are lost. It takes such courage to reach the end. At last the journey is over and the migrants arrive...

Item No. 9781776573134
$18.99
Other Words for Home
Warga, Jasmine

New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book!

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

...

Item No. 9780062747815
$7.99
Paper Boat
Lam, Thao
Named a best picture book of 2020 by Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, New York Public Library, the Globe and Mail, CBC, and the Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books -- a heartfelt and personal immigration story by critically acclaimed author...
Item No. 9781771473637
$18.95
Paper Son: The Inpiring Story of Tyrus Wong, Immigrant & Artist
Leung, Julie

2021 Asian Pacific American Award Winner

Winner of the American Library Association's 2021 Asian/Pacific American Award for Best Picture Book!

An inspiring picture-book biography of animator Tyrus Wong, the Chinese American immigrant responsible for bringing Disney's Bambi to life.

...

Item No. 9781524771874
$17.99