X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Nina Recommends

Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds
Gravel, Elise

Perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly, Arlo & Pips: King of the Birds is the first in a new early graphic chapter book series about the friendship between Arlo, an arrogant crow, and a sarcastic little bird named Pips.

Like most crows, Arlo has a big...

Item No. 9780062982223
$7.99
Garlic and the Witch
Paulsen, Bree

  Staff Pick...

Bree Paulsen's brave little protagonist, Garlic, is back in this charmingly illustrated standalone companion to Garlic and the Vampire, serving up another tale of friendship, magic, and self-discovery. Give both books to readers who fell in love with Tidesong or ...

Item No. 9780062995117
$15.99
Greenwild PB
Thomson, Pari

  Staff Pick...

*An Instant New York Times Bestseller*

The Secret Garden meets A Wrinkle in Time in Greenwild: The World Behind the Door, the first book in the most extraordinary new fantasy series -- the perfect gift for the holiday season!

...

Item No. 9781250894540
$8.99
How To Be an Explorer of the World
Smith, Keri

  Staff Pick...

From the internationally bestselling creator of Wreck This Journal, an interactive guide for exploring and documenting the art and science of everyday life.

Artists and scientists analyze the world around them in surprisingly similar ways, by observing,...

Item No. 9780399534607
$17.00
Insectorama

  Staff Pick...


A beautiful work of art to make you fall in love with the tiny creatures all around you!


Winner of the JP Redouté Children's Book Prize

The world is full of insects. They far outweigh
humans on earth, and we couldn't survive long without...

Item No. 9783039640164
$29.95
Invisible Things
Miller, Sophie

  Staff Pick...

New York TimesBestseller

This creatively wacky exploration of the invisible things that make up the human experience encourages readers to look past the visible and connect with the things that are not seen.

If we could put on a...

Item No. 9781797215204
$17.99
Lightfall
Probert, Tim

New York Times bestselling author Kazu Kibuishi says of Lightfall: "Beautifully drawn. Tim Probert has created a world readers will want to visit."

For fans of Amulet and middle grade readers who love sweeping worlds like Star Wars, the first book of the...

Item No. 9780062990464
$15.99
Narwhal & Jelly Super Pod Party Pack (Books 1 & 2)
Clanton, Ben

  Staff Pick...

A double helping of Narwhal and Jelly in a brand-new format! Join the underwater duo in this two-book graphic novel bind-up of their first two adventures -- with extras like drawing guides, a superhero name generator and a pod pledge!

"Hilarious and charming. The most lovable...

Item No. 9781774883730
$9.99
Nature Anatomy Activity Book
Rothman, Julia

  Staff Pick...

Bestselling author and illustrator Julia Rothman invites kids of all ages to engage with her acclaimed Nature Anatomy book through this companion activity book, featuring on-the-page creativity and learning activities, including matching challenges, word searches, drawing exercises,...

Item No. 9781635867688
$12.99
Nevermoor
Townsend, Jessica

  Staff Pick...

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination.

Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for...

Item No. 9780316508896
$8.99
Outdoor Scientist
Grandin, Temple

  Staff Pick...

From New York Times bestselling author and world-renowned scientist and autism spokesperson Temple Grandin comes a book about exploring the world around us, asking questions, and making sense of what we see--with 40 fun outdoor activities that promote independent thinking, which...

Item No. 9780593115565
$9.99
Round and Round Goes Mother Nature: Life Cycles
Dawnay, Gabby

  Staff Pick...

This truly beautiful and wonderfully illustrated book introduces children to the magic of nature, through the stories of 48 fascinating life cycles.

Every story has a beginning, middle and end and so does everything in our world. From a frog, to a cloud in the sky to a twinkling...

Item No. 9780711279780
$30.00
Sabriel
Nix, Garth

  Staff Pick...

Game of Thrones fans will love the New York Times bestselling Abhorsen series. Sabriel, the first installment in the trilogy, launched critically acclaimed author Garth Nix onto the fantasy scene as a rising star.

Dark Secrets, Deep...

Item No. 9780064471831
$10.99
Sir Ladybug and the Queen Bee
Tabor, Corey R

  Staff Pick...

The second adventure in the fresh and funny Sir Ladybug young graphic novel series, from Caldecott Honor and two-time Geisel Award-winning author-illustrator Corey Tabor. Perfect for fans of Catwad, Bird...

Item No. 9780063069091
$12.99
Something Close to Magic
Mills, Emma

  Staff Pick...

A baker's apprentice reluctantly embarks on an adventure full of magic, new friendships, and a prince in distress in this "appealingly breezy" (Kirkus Reviews) and "deftly written" (School Library Journal, starred review) young adult fantasy that's perfect for fans of Margaret...

Item No. 9781665926911
$19.99
Something Close to Magic PB
Mills, Emma

  Staff Pick...

A baker's apprentice reluctantly embarks on an adventure full of magic, new friendships, and a prince in distress in this "appealingly breezy" (Kirkus Reviews) and "deftly written" (School Library Journal, starred review) young adult fantasy that's perfect for fans of Margaret...

Item No. 9781665926928
$12.99
The First Cat in Space Ate Pizza (Softcover)
Barnett, Mac

...

"Ridiculously fun and brilliantly illustrated." --Dav Pilkey, creator of Dog Man and Captain Underpants

As seen on The TODAY Show! New York Times bestselling Mac Barnett and Caldecott Honor award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris turn their massively...

Item No. 9780063084094
$10.99
House in the Cerulean Sea
Klune, Tj

  Staff Pick...

A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER!
A 2021 Alex Award winner!
The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020...

Item No. 9781250217318
$18.99
The Lost Library
Mass, Wendy

  Staff Pick...

Now a New York Times bestseller, a #1 Indie Bestseller, and the Amazon #1 Best Kids' Book of 2023, readers won't want to miss this story of a little free library guarded by a cat and a boy who takes on the mystery it keeps.

When a mysterious little free library (...

Item No. 9781250838810
$17.99
The Queen in the Cave
Sardà, Júlia

  Staff Pick...

In her debut as author-illustrator, Júlia Sardà spins an enthralling and evocative tale, rich with layers of meaning to be discovered.

One night, Franca has a dream about a marvelous queen who lives in a dark cave, deep in the forest. She cannot sit still until she knows if...

Item No. 9781536220544
$19.99
The Shadow and the Ghost
Min, Cat

  Staff Pick...

Shinbi is not a particularly ghosty ghost. At night she likes making tiny bouquets of things, and gazing at the far away stars. Haunting? Not so much. Even if that's what the other ghosts like. In the daytime, in a meadow, sits a single rock, casting a single shadow, named Greem. He'd really...

Item No. 9781646143689
$18.99
The Teeny-Weeny Unicorn
Harris, Shawn

  Staff Pick...

Meet this pint-sized unicorn in this funny, modern fairy tale about perception and self-confidence from a Caldecott-Honor winning creator.

Once upon a time, in a land where horses were mythical beasts, there lived a unicorn--a Teeny-Weeny Unicorn. He lived with his family in...

Item No. 9780593571880
$18.99
Tiny Creatures (paperback)
Davies, Nicola

  Staff Pick...

"Sutton's large-scale illustrations help children to visualize microorganisms and processes that are too small to see. . . . A handsome and rewarding picture book." -- Booklist (starred review)

All around the world--in the sea, in the soil, in the air, and in your body...

Item No. 9780763689049
$8.99