X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Have You Ever Seen a Flower?

Have You Ever Seen a Flower?
$17.99



A 2022 Caldecott Honor Book

Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is a beautiful exploration of perception, the environment, and humanity.

This enchanting picture book explores the relationship between childhood and nature. In this simple yet profound story, one child experiences a flower with all five senses--from its color to its fragrance to the entire universe it evokes--revealing how a single flower can expand one's perspective in incredible ways.

CELEBRATION OF NATURE: Full of bright, stunning illustrations, Have You Ever Seen a Flower? reminds readers of all ages to appreciate the beauty of the world.

INCREDIBLE TALENT: Have You Ever Seen a Flower? is the authorial debut of award-winning illustrator Shawn Harris. His previous illustrated books have garnered multiple awards and starred reviews, including Her Right Foot and What Can a Citizen Do (both by Dave Eggers), Everyone's Awake by Colin Meloy, and A Polar Bear in the Snow by Mac Barnett.

CRITICS LOVE IT: This award-winning book has received praise from numerous esteemed publications. Highlights include:

"[A] stunning tour de force."--The New York Times

"The pictures have a rich visual texture, vibrant color, and a naive style, which together imply a child as ostensible artist. This effect is well aligned with the playfully inquisitive text, with rhythm and repetition akin to books by Margaret Wise Brown and Ruth Krauss. . . . Have you ever seen a book quite like this? Not likely."--The Horn Book Magazine

Perfect for:

  • Parents and caregivers seeking a read-aloud with thought-provoking questions
  • Nature lovers
  • Birthday, baby shower, or seasonal gift
  • Fans of The Little Prince, The Giving Tree, Not a Box, and The Very Hungry Caterpillar
  • ISBN/SKU: 
    9781452182704
    Publisher: 
    ups_only: 
    No