X
O
Carle Museum Logo

Measuring Up

Measuring Up
$12.99

An ALA Top 10 Graphic Novel of 2021 - A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection - Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List - Featured in Today Show's AAPI Heritage Month List - Amazon Best Books November Selection - Cybils Awards Finalist - An NBC AAPI Selection - Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue - A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection - WA State Book Awards Finalist - Texas Library Association Little Maverick Selection

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is a don't-miss graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

"A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world." --Gene Luen Yang, author ofAmerican Born ChineseandDragon Hoops

"A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures." --Remy Lai, author ofPie in the Skyand Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

ISBN/SKU: 
9780062973863
Author: 
Publisher: 
ups_only: 
No