X
O
Carle Museum Logo

A Shell is Cozy

A Shell is Cozy
$18.99
From the creators of the award-winning An Egg Is Quiet, A Seed Is Sleepy, and A Rock Is Lively comes the latest book in this bestselling series!

The newest entry in the bestselling Nature Books series by Dianna Hutts Aston and Sylvia Long, A Shell Is Cozy takes a gorgeous look at the fascinating world of shells. From land snails to sea scallops, giant clams to tiny dwarf shells, an incredible array of shells are showcased in all their splendor.

Poetic in voice and elegant in design, this carefully researched book is sure to inspire lively questions and spark the imaginations of young readers. This beautiful volume will be equally at home being read to a child on a parent's lap as it is in a classroom reading circle.

EVERYONE LOVES SHELLS!: The perfect book for amateur naturalists, vacation-goers, and armchair travelers for whom beaches, and their shells, hold a special place in the heart.

EVERYONE LOVES THIS SERIES!:
An Egg Is Quiet
"A delight for budding naturalists of all stripes, flecks, dots, and textures." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review
"Will inspire kids to marvel." --Booklist
A Junior Library Guild Premiere selection
One of Scholastic Parent & Child magazine's 100 Greatest Books for Kids

A Butterfly Is Patient
"Both eye-catching and informative." --School Library Journal, starred review
"A lovely mix of science and wonder." --Publishers Weekly, starred review
"Stunning." --Library Media Connection, starred review
An ALA Notable Children's Book
An NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book for Students Grades K-12
An NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts

A Rock Is Lively
"A visual and verbal feast." --Boston Globe
"Eye-catching and eye-opening." --School Library Journal, starred review
An IRA Teachers' Choices Reading List selection

A Seed Is Sleepy
"Will stretch children's minds and imaginations." --School Library Journal, starred review
An IRA Teachers' Choices Reading List selection

A Nest Is Noisy
"Beautiful . . . an asset to science collections." --Booklist
A Junior Library Guild selection

Perfect for:

  • Parents, teachers, librarians, in-school educators, and homeschoolers
  • Preschool, kindergarten, and emerging readers with an interest in nature, the ocean, sea creatures, life science, rocks, minerals, and shells
  • Curious explorers and shell collectors
  • Fans of Up in the Garden and Down in the Dirt and others in the Over and Under series
  • Anyone interested in learning more about the planet we inhabit
  • Gift giving for any holiday as well as birthdays and end-of-school summer reads
  • ISBN/SKU: 
    9781797212470
    Author: 
    Publisher: 
    ups_only: 
    No